HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

01/03/2004 - 10:44 p.m. | is he strong? listen, bud / he's got radioactive blood

Back home, back to fewer updates. So it goes. Up yesterday to tan (gotta grab 15 before I come back home, right?), shower, play stupid castle game, and go with Kyle to drop Brytne off at work and then mysteriously stumble upon the post office I needed to get to so as to pick my poster. It makes me proud to know that our postal network is being run by the slowest, oldest people possible. Not too long, Spritz, Jen, and I were headed for home. I read most of the way until Spritz pointed out this annoying squeak that was coming from somewhere in back, at which I began obessively trying to locate and/or stop it. I never did quite locate the exact spot, but while I was smashing my head against the window to try and pinpoint, it stopped altogether. I'm not sure if I had anything to do with that at all. We passed through Morris, and as we drove several blocks north of Petey's Cantina, it was like in Highlander when the immortals sense eachother. Zoom in. Someday, Peter. Someday.

Upon arriving home, food was quickly thrust upon me. And eagerly accepted. I ate waaay too much, though, and was just sort of a heap for a while. Dad and I made Mom watch the latter part of the "Star Trek" marathon with us, then "Joan of Arcadia." Perhaps I should be resistant, but I sort of like the show. Joan is pretty. Who isn't, though? Parents crashed, and with little to do myself, I followed suit not long after. Unfortunately, my sleep cycles more used to 3 than 11, so I had some trouble getting there for a while. I came to some sort of a revelation during the night, but we won't go into that until I am absolutely sure.

Lurched to life once again ("You sound shocked!"), started screaming about "Deanie" to Mom because I am just that cool. Showered and then off to blow my (arg) Old Navy gift certificate. We listened to a flashback to 1978 on the radio. Almost 80% balls, but there was a cover of "Satisfaction" by Devo that was pretty cool. Actually, you should download it because I sure as hell am not gonna try on shitbox here. We met Dad at Kohl's where I was just walking around in a circle and talking to myself like Sean Connery while I waited. Then, um, Galyan's or something, I think? I am highly tempted by the rock climbing wall. I mean, there is a chance that, like that 13 year old girl, I am genetically suited for climbing. I mean, I have to be genetically suited for something, right? Still, I would just as soon not find out in front of a big crowd of people. Soccer season approaches! :D And any place with doors that make some sort of sound when you enter or exit must gradually drive the employees insane. Ate lunch at this sort of upscale place that kept not having what my parents wanted. "Can we have this to drink?" "Sure." Several minutes pass. "No, we don't have that." So much for money. At Old Navy, I flew through the aisles, got a bunch of long sleeved t-shirts, and flew back out. No time for frills, Satan Corporation. Browsed at Borders, but I'm feeling sort of frugal, and plus Murakami's new book is crap. I've already read over half of it because it's just reprinted works. Lame.

Trader Joe's and then home. I am such a sucker for a smile, swear to God. Rented movies and watched them, ate old, stale .02 bags of tortilla chips and Rice Krispies Treats Cereal, and now am trying very hard not to just go to sleep at 11 again. My new favorite candy are these black currant pastilles. They are tasty, but not too strong, and you can suck on them forever. Usually I bite through stuff before it can completely dissolve, but these have the best texture ever. Too bad I only got one box - and they're so expensive online. $9!! Tania Gunadi 4 life! OK, I'm tapped. And then some.

I won't be soothed,
Nate