HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

09/30/2003 - 12:37 p.m. | i am annoyed by the word "cleavage"

Phlegmy cough. Good morning to you too, world. Didn't recap Monday, so I guess I'll need to hit that. Woke up feeling considerably better, minus a small headache that I sort of ignored until it grew into a very big headache at around 4. Crazy McOld continues to impress in journalism; Zimos and I have begun to take bets on what random tangents he'll go on each lecture. Somehow, on the subject of interviewing, he wandered to our sex drives (!!) and back to our old friend The Thin Red Line. We have an exam a week from Friday; I'm pretty sure it's just gonna be whoever makes the most insane scrawlings wins.

After a brief stop at IMPE ("Please please please don't make me work this weekend!" "No."), I came back and got sucked into a bunch of emode tests by my mom. Despite what "scientists" say, my IQ has seemingly dropped slightly. That's a shame. In other news, "Nate, on a scale of 1-100, your attraction factor is 61!" Woo. Woo. Sadly, that's about where I would've put myself anyway. Just a teensy bit above the average. The average. The people who like Nascar and Vin Diesel movies. The people who find novelty t-shirts hilarious. The people who actually care about what is going on in Ben and J.Lo's inspid lives. And I am only slightly ahead of them. And this wasn't even factoring in my appearance. Shoot. Stupid tests. It should have just said "LONELY DEATH" at the top of the screen.

I think I wasted too many hours doing that, so I headed to stats to get some reading done. You Shall Know Our Velocity! is getting better, although it is no match for non-fiction. Weird, huh? I do like Dave Eggers' twists, though.

Pretty much out of the blue, I taught myself how to ride no handed. Actually, dunno if "taught" is the right word, more like "conquered stupid fear of." And actually, despite my bony ass, I am pretty good at it. Turns and everything! Fun for me... except now my legs are pretty much always sore. I feel like an old man.

Ran some errands with Brytne, then headed for work. Sometimes I can't believe I am getting paid for what I do. I watch people sign their names, read, and sing songs in a hallway for $6 an hour. The perfect LAS job. And, I noticed that I could see through the window a girl running on a treadmill on the third floor in the building across the courtyard. So I drank soy milk and watched her fluid motion. Like liquid. Seriously, she was a monster, and I am a few quirks away from becoming a depraved psycho.

After work, I was starving, so we hit Wendy's and Baskin-Robbins, the former lacking mutants and the latter lacking incompetence, so I was fairly disappointed. Once again, I was sucked in by the Disney Channel and, in asshole like manner, forced everyone else to be sucked in as well. Michelle brought cookies over (which was very nice except I had tummy death) and she and Kyle worked on homework while Spritz partook in some H or something. Several hours later, the two homeworkers had accomplished little, so I tried turning off the TV. In the usual LAS fashion, however, then I just inhibited their progress in other ways (that's what we're here for!) It does not help that they are both the two worst procrastinators I know. They wander around and do silly little chores and mumbled insanities to themselves all in an effort to avoid work. I stayed up with them 'til 4 (after doing some insane Bob Costas/Harry Caray split personality commentary on their foosball match). Kyle wanted me to stay up, I think, and I wasn't particularly tired (or couldn't have been), but I've been getting the feeling from Michelle lately that she doesn't want me around or maybe I make her uncomfortable or something. So, uh, not knowing how to fix this (uh, be not creepy or whatever my problem is), I think I'll just cut myself off again because I seriously don't want anyone annoyed be me. We just used to be closer, maybe, and I think I fucked up??

Crashed, woke up, slept in econ (but I was there!), slept in here, woke up for "Star Trek" with Kyle. I love my Tuesdays and Thursdays, although tonight I have some IMPE meeting, and the fact that I have any obligation bugs the hell out of me, so I'm gonna go make the most of my time or something!

This was not a very good entry. :(

I won't be soothed,
Nate