HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

09/21/2003 - 5:00 p.m. | i'm in definitely

OK, so my time was divided up as follows: I would rotate from watching the Disney Channel - and only the Disney Channel - to playing Megaman to finishing A Heartbreaking Work. I'd switch jobs (or whatever) whenever they decided to show "The Proud Family" on the Disney Channel (I can watch every other shit terrible thing they put on their lineup: reruns I've seen hundreds of times, inexcusable segments about how "sometimes pets are the coolest part of your family," the same half a dozen shows repeated in slightly different orders for hours on end... but no fucking "Proud Family." No, I draw the line there. Not at Raven, like some people would. I have more to me than that. Proud Family), whenever I got stuck in an insanely frustrating loop in Megaman (every 15 minutes?), and whenever Spritz needed a break and brought me out to play foosball with him. Lately, he's taken to the idea of me having some sort of handicap, like I only have to score three points before it counts as a win for me. Does anyone else find that vaguely insulting? Stupid being less than 1/3 of Spritz. The thing about the Disney Channel is that it takes like the worst things that youth can offer and crams it into as small of a space as possible. All the "Disney Channel stars are just like you" things and the stupid, stupid sitcoms and the real life bullshit and painful music videos and on and on. I'm halfway between irony and masochism.

I guess yesterday was interrupted by a few other little things. Spritz, Yousaf, and I went out to Prospect so Spritz could get a new hard drive, then promptly installed it and totally destroyed his computer. On the plus side, I finally got an ice cream cone. This is what constant begging gets me. While waiting for Windows to install, we went out for Thai food. Tom Yum tastes like burning, but that may be in a good way. Hold on, need to trim nose hairs. There. OK, so why did none of you people tell me how long those things were? I mean, seriously. I'd let you know! Waited for Kyle to get home, then he and I made hurried preparations for Matt and KC's space party. The robot costume was pretty much set to go (except for attaching the antennae which almost immediately fell off - and the mix CD). Kyle was another story. Using their mad GE skills, he and Spritz crafted an aluminum foil helmet (complete with antennae and a visor made of cling wrap), a bubble wrap shirt (technically more of a bubble wrap tube top), CD-R shoulder pads, and other random bits of foil duct taped about his person. A little green Sharpie on his face and upper torso, and voila! Martian... or something.

The walk to Matt and KC's was something, as neither of us had the best visibility at the time. We held hands. And going pretty much anywhere with a robot is gonna get you some attention, moreso if you are with a robot in a town populated by drunks and idiots. Lots of insane yelling and honking. Arrived at the party, where I am thankful to say that we were not the only ones dressed up. As always, everyone really liked my robot costume, except it reduces me to this shell of a person who can hardly hear or or see or say anything. I provide visual stimulation, though. And I dance like a motherfucker. Although not as cool as mstan, who I admire in every way. I was hot as hell in the suit, of course, and providing me with food and beverages is more than a challenge. Kyle had to mod a straw for me. In the meantime, we touched tongues, and I sucked a Listerine Breath Strip off his finger. That, and the fact he showed me his ass twice that day, and I think we are heading down a new road of the homoerotic. And! Overacting Boy was there! Wa-hoo! That stupid ass.

It would've been nice to get out of the death box and mingle or at least sit, but that would go against my vision, and then Kyle and his nipples would be even more noticeable by comparison. So I danced and clonked into people, and their house is really cute and nice, and it was like a sophomore wing reunion what with all the wretched, wretched dorks. Oh, DOS Boots... I could've done without seeing you again. Lisa showed up, and I guess I lost track of the score 'cause now it's her turn not to like me again. Darn! I should really take notes. The more important question is, was that her hat? Someone answer me.

Kyle and I left pretty early (comparatively), came home, changed, and went back on the streets for another late night operation. We are death commandos, sneaky ones at that. OK, less death, more running around, pretending to act sneaky, and giggling a lot. But, I'm glad I have it. Arrived home at around 4 and wiped out.

Up today at 11 for even more Disney Channel. Like, pretty much all day, I guess. Same old stuff, but there I was nonetheless. Running through my classes quickly, I think the only thing I have to do besides econ is read a little for journalism, which I will get to in a minute here. Yeah, on the agenda is to find something to be passionate about.

OK, quick poll: When you're thinking, how do you go about it? I mean, do you think in images or sounds or what? I was discussing thoughts with Kyle the other day, and he said that he could think faster than he could speak, and I sort of pondered on this for a second, and I realized that I think exactly like I speak. Or rather, my thoughts are just me speaking internally instead of outloud. Like, even when I'm working on a math problem or something, in my mind, I'm talking about what I'm doing. There is no abstract in my mind. Is that weird? How do you guys think? Because it would explain some stuff maybe, if I were just a little different in that aspect. I've never had any trouble writing or expressing my thoughts (when I want to, I mean) because they're already stored as words and speech already. There's no translation to go through. I mean, some people are really smart and have really great thoughts, but they suck at expressing them how they want to. I seem to have the opposite problem. Or, in other words, I think I'm a sitcom character. No, really. I am constantly in voiceover mode, even before I knew what that meant. My gift and my curse, people. I can't rise above it, but it's not too bad of a talent to have most of the time. Anyway, Kyle made it sound like I was sort of a freak in this manner, so insights are welcome. Smiled upon even.

More importantly, I need your insights on the following: How creepy would it be if I bought this, scale of 1 - 10 (1 being not creepy at all, 10 being, well, the status quo)?

Slight complication: I was gonna go home for a visit in 2 weeks (hitch a ride from Brytne nd such), but it appears I have to work. Anyone heading up north next weekend? Alternately, anyone want a couple shifts at IMPE? I mean, who wouldn't?!

I won't be soothed,
Nate