HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

09/20/2003 - 8:47 a.m. | and now for an amusing anecdote about orthopedic surgeons

This wasn't my idea; it was the line of thinking of some ridiculous guy on the south quad.

It was a painful lurch out of bed today. I was fairly exhausted, and 7:30 is too early for anything, but gotta let the healing begin! Stepped outside, and it was freezing for whatever reason. Biking did not aid in this process, but it did help me with the old swear loudly to myself about how fucking cold it is initiative. Anyway, talked to counselor, same old, same old. Why can't I function as a normal, good human being? We're gonna give some new stuff a shot, and I really hope it works. Freezing ride home and then a freezing shower. Freeze freeze freeze. I am in total army surplus mode today. Olive shirt, army jacket, khaki satchel, etc. I look like an Irish militant. But, as they say repeatedly in the ad for the Disney Channel original, Cadet Kelly, I make olive drab totally fab. :|

I am beginning to think that the whole point of this journalism class is crush my spirit and kill whatever writing style I have. Even adorable Maggie McFadden (tank top today!!) was all like, "Spell a name wrong, that's a grade off. Grammar error, that's a grade off. Too much passive voice? You better believe that's a grade off." Thank God for Zimos. We make up the rear ranks, cackling to each other about how batshit retarded this all is. And after a year of Skinner, you can be damn sure I know how to fix passive voice. Glancing passively (!!) over my paper the other day, I noticed I hardly use it all anymore, so I guess I should thank him for that. As for this diary, well, you know I don't give a flying poopzilla about what goes on in here.

Anyway, after rewriting n sentences (where n > the amount I care to list), I was walking through the crappy, downcast cold of the quad to my bike, feeling sort of, I dunno, boggy and sad. But, and I don't know if anyone ever told you this before, I am very easily fixed. A girl - the same girl as last week even - gave me a preemptive smile again! Do you know how much that cheers me up? I'm sure she doesn't, and I know you people get me even less, but it just works wonders. And again, it's not 'cause I think she has the hots for me. I have red hair. Only albinos are allowed to be attracted to me from this point. But, just that someone was nice enough to smile at me for no particular reason... it works wonders. 'cause then I'm like, "Well, she's happy about something, so I'm sure I will stumble upon things that make me smile randomly too," and I swear right after the sun came out, and it was even nice again, and sometimes the little things are just huge.

Fuck econ. The only good thing about it is that New Zealand pronounces my name so it rhymes with Katherine. What with a test coming on Thursday, I'm going to have to do some hardcore focusing on econ this week, a prospect I do not relish in. Luckily, the other classes have been very generous in assigning little to no work at all. Even less than usual, I mean. Yes, that is sad. I agree.

Fruity Pebbles break, followed by stats. The professor sang the jingle for Glade Plug-Ins as the method of solving a series of problems. I love that man. If only I loved that class. At least I'm getting a lot of reading done.

Came home and decided that it would probably be best if I didn't leave the couch all weekend and focused my efforts on the Disney Channel. After three episodes of "Recess," this quickly flopped.

My night could be a legend in lameness, and you know the kind of boring shit I usually write about. Sleep, clean, sleep. No need to say more. I peed, and it smelled like soymilk. OK, that was necessary.

I won't be soothed,
Nate