HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

09/13/2003 - 9:35 a.m. | here's a little trick i picked up in taiwan THONK

My hair is becoming more leprechaun-y by the minute, I swear. Ayway, what's new for me? Uhhh - not much was done in the early evening. Oh wait, the trolls downstairs yelled at us again. OK, listen. DDR can be be a mindfuck from the floor below, I'm sure. But, we play like once a week now, and if they're pissed off about some college kids making some stomping sounds at 8 pm on a Friday night, why the hell would you live anywhere near a college campus? We don't even have drunken antics, really. I mean, how could you think, "Well, since we like peace and quiet so much, let's live on the first flower of a campus apartment"? Anyway, I guess they are in the right technically, and there's nothing we can really do. No parties here? I mean, if DDR bugs them, what will actual people do?

Michelle came over and we lit blue sparklers on the roof. They were not as good as we hoped. I have got to stop being so darn ambivalent. Seriously, I thought I made it through the only child thing pretty unscathed (except, you know, the crazy), but if I'm gonna keep having the maturity level of a second grader, things are not cool. I just have fucked up ways of showing my affection.

Went to see Matchstick Men (smuggling in Wendy's chicken nuggets is pretty hilarious, by the way... right up there with apricots). I liked it very, very much. Although I don't particularly like Nic Cage in general, I'm growing to respect him as an actor, and he was great in this. All of his tics and obsessions were just awesome. Kinda makes you wish you had them just because it would make you more interesting. Sam Rockwell was also very good, but I am completely and utterly in love with Alison Lohman, the actress who played Cage's daughter. She could do no wrong. Unfortunately, she's really like 24, and I'm really like ugly and retarded, so I do not see any sparks forming.

More conversation and stuff last night, as everyone dropped off but for (what's a but for?) Kitty and me. We went out and got some Tostito's salsa con queso thing, which certainly seemed good at the time but now seems to be high-kicking my bowels. Walked Kitty home, followed by a shaky bike ride; I was sprayed by a sprinkler. Whoa - totally got caught up in my cursor blinking there for a sec. Anyway, work today and stuff, which I guess would account for my nervous stomach. Or possibly the cheese. Or possibly whatever else.

I won't be soothed,
Nate