HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

09/09/2003 - 1:40 a.m. | roll that beautiful bean footage

Wow, time has completely eluded me. It�s almost 1 on, uh, Tuesday, I guess, but it feels like maybe 8 pm three days ago or something. I just took almost a four hour nap, so sleep will not be quick in coming. Thus, my constant struggle to find something to do rages on. None of this is aided by the fact that both lightbulbs in my room exploded simultaneously, so now I have to lurk, troll-like, in the shadows. It�s creepy in here.

What of today? Yes, what of today. Well, only one class, for starters. No JLit �cause it�s a Monday, and no Stats because Stats is fucking worthless, so that just leaves Journalism. I lost Zimos and Imran, but I did gain a Paul, so I can hardly bitch. But here I go anyway. The professor is crazy and stern and crazy. I guess sternness is and of itself isn�t too terrible of a thing, discipline or whatever. But he kind of borders on the anal asshole (!!). He�s preachy, and he don�t like you if you don�t share his opinions, which I am now very aware of because he spent the whole class discussing them instead teaching us anything about, you know, journalism. Ack. As is my standard M.O., I made it a point to a) make fun of him in my mind as much as possible and b) keep my damn mouth shut. He started off by saying that we didn�t ask enough questions, so I immediately begin compiling a list of completely irreverent things that would stop him from wanting questions ever again. Then he asked how to correctly spell his name. A-S-S-F-A-C-E. And a liable is on a cayan of sahoop. And whatever floats my boat is buoyancy. In short, stop wasting my time. And think about what that means, for me to say that something is wasting my time.

After class, I rode my bike to Parasol. Finding nothing I really wanted (almost an hour later, much to the annoyance of the staff, I'll assume), I came back home, cleaned, read, and wrote thank you notes. I had the biggest, healthiest lunch I�ve had in a long, long time, and then Spritz and I went to get haircuts. I still have no clue what to do with my hair, but I often recall that nothing about my hair is going to fix a) my personality or b) the rest of my appearance, so why worry? Came home and got ready for work, but ran some errands on Green St. first. Bank, Walgreens (for red hair dye??), Record Service. The two staffers at the latter were really friendly. Sometimes I think it would be fun to make friends.

At work for the next four hours. I tried to accomplish at least a little today, so I can happily say that I�ve finished all my reading and 1 of the 3 assignments I have due this Friday. Talked to my mom for a little. She seems worried that my entries always seem sad. I like to think of it as a biased sample. I tend to write when I have something on my mind, and when I do, it�s usually something sad. So bias. Lisa called and then stopped by (a sign of her mounting boredom), which made the last chunk of my shift go by faster (plus the fact that I happen to leave pretty early). She came along while I ran some errands (and very ineptly tried to ride my bike), and then I came home and passed out on the couch, arriving at this very moment right now.

I�ve gotten pretty used to not having the internet. I don�t even miss it. I mean, what did I do? Occasionally talk to someone? Wow. The only thing I am annoyed by is the fact I have to use floppy disks to transfer these entries to Spritz�s computer. Floppies are the most unreliable medium in the whole world. So slow and noisy and awful. Death.

I won't be soothed,
Nate