HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

08/29/2003 - 12:20 a.m. | beneath the quarter moon, beneath the quarter moon

Sunday was not a day of jam-packed busyness. I slept until round noon (possibly one), showered, read, played �Harry Potter,� and started to doze off once more when Shelly called. We talked for a little until Brytne called and asked if I could help her unpack. Yes, let�s just check my planner here. Hmmm � it appears I�m free.

Brytne has more stuff than anybody and none of it seemed to get filtered out as we unpacked. We had �four or five more boxes left� every time we finished emptying one. By the way, I am so glad I missed out on the pandemonium of moving into a dorm because I imagine it was nerve-wracking. Apartments forever. Brytne�s roommate (�Emily�) showed up at some point. She�s sort of cute in an Alyssa Milano-ish way, but I don�t think she�s gonna be a close friend to any of us. We met up with Kyle and Spritz and went out to dinner, followed by watching Chicago, which wasn�t a bad movie despite the fact that I really dislike both Catherine Zeta-Jones and Renee Zellwigga (uhh).

After Brytne and Emily left, we did some talkin�. Actually, I mostly just listen a) because I think it�s interesting, b) because I don�t think I have anything pertinent to add, and c) because the only problem I have is fucking stupid, so I try to ignore it as best I can. We crashed pretty late, but here I am, up pretty early. I love the fact I have an eastern window. Best alarm clock in the world.

Last night, I had this dream there I was holding this neon sign or something. It was getting really hot, and I wanted to do something about it, but I couldn�t make up my mind. Part of me thought I should get rid of it and forget it about it, but I guess I�d grown attached and didn�t want to see it go so easily. Another half of me wanted to actually put it to use and mount it or whatever, whatever the consequences were, but the idea of what those consequences could be really scared me. So, I just kept holding on to this sign and getting burned, knowing that eventually I�d probably drop the ball, so to speak. Dreams are meaningless. I also had one about trying to buy a bottle opener. Boring as hell.

I won't be soothed,
Nate