HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

08/29/2003 - 12:12 a.m. | and everyone here, i need your ears, so be cool for a few

We won�t be getting the internet until the 28th or so, so I guess I should at least keep some record of what�s been going on around here.

�and there�s somethin� goin� wrong around here�

Back on campus, which is, for the majority, a good thing. Our apartment rocks. It�s a lot bigger and nicer than I remember. Almost more like a real grownup apartment. Yes, I am 8 years old. Everything is pretty well unpacked and organized, except for the kitchen, which scares the crap out of me. I really like the way my room turned out. I�ll try to post some pictures sooner or later, but it might be easier for you to just visit. My brain can only seem to crap out stupid thoughts right now, so just bear with me. On Thursday, after unpacking in the hottest weather possible (and no working air conditioning at first), Spritz and I drove around attempting to do errands, most of which we failed at. By the way, U.S. Cellular seems to have terrible customer service, so you might want to avoid them if possible. We�ve been spending a lot of time at Kyle�s parents, since they have a) cable, b) the internet, and c) his mom. The first thing she said when we walked in was, �Want breakfast?� Yes, we do. And she made this huge meal in like 20 minutes. Amazing and very nice. So we�re grateful to them very much.

Kyle has gotten me pretty well hooked on �Scrubs.� We watch a bunch of episodes until 2 or 3 every night. J.D. is one of those super-identifiable characters whom everyone seems to see themselves as. The random jokes are what really get me, though. �Another soldier in the war against communism!� On Friday, Spritz and I gave the errands another shot, this time with a slightly higher success rate. We also made some pretty good gains on arranging the apartment. Come see our end table. Michelle came over to visit, and once Spritz left to pick up Jen, the two of us cruised around Urbana a little. Somehow, we got sucked into a black hole and found this tiny little Asian food store right smack in the middle of everything. We got Pocky, which is normal enough, but we also dared to try this can of warm basil seed beverage. It�s surprisingly good. Sort of like banana bubble tea, but with more frog eggs. From there, we went back to her place for �the tour� (all, uh, 30 seconds of it) and dinner with her roommates. If meat isn�t involved, cooking can be so fast. I could crap out a bunch of good vegetarian shit for everyone, but I am up against the carnivorous majority, so I won�t be doing much cooking. Does anyone like artichokes? Michelle was going out to the bars *giggle* but she dropped me off at home, and I think she felt guilty or something because she hung out for an hour or two here. All the windows on the east side of the building are just a short distance away from the porch roof, which wraps around the house, so we climbed out and sat out there for a while and made fun of people. Chilly. Helped Kyle clean and then more �Scrubs.�

Yesterday, my parents came by for a few hours, so we had lunch and did a little shopping. We also stood out in the parking lot spray painting my garbage can and some Tropical Sno cups raspberry (yes, not pink � raspberry! Get it right!), garnering some strange looks. They took my car home, which makes me sort of sad, but I guess I probably couldn�t afford it right now anyway. Plus, pretty much everyone else I know has one, so I�ll just be an annoyance instead. Oh. I did finally cave in and get a cell phone, though, so whoop dee shit about that, hmm? My ring tone makes up for it, though. I spend a lot of hours floating between activities. Everyone else is pretty busy, so I have to think of things to do, so it�s a lot of me playing crappy games and making my bed. Anyway, I was sort of down last night when Michelle came over to give us a housewarming cake, which was very sweet of her. And you know when you�re down and you don�t want to make a big deal out of it because then it�s just like you�re begging for attention and that�s even worse? It�s hard not to do that. I tried to just come in here and be alone so I wouldn�t bother anyone with my brooding or whatever. I mean, they were getting along better without me, I think, so I just tried to pull out as discreetly as possible. This never works. After Michelle left, Kyle went to sleep, and Spritz was out with Jen, so I watched The Royal Tennenbaums alone in the dark. I was sort of in the mood to not be in the mood I was in, and I guess drinking is supposed to be a good cure for that, and yet I hesitate. This seems hypocritical. If I take medication to try and fix my wonkiness, why wouldn�t I just dump a few other chemicals in to cheer me up? Good question. Because that�s alcoholism. Good answer. Kyle woke up in a daze and realized that Brytne should have showed up at least an hour earlier, so we went out on a desperate search mission. We couldn�t get a hold of her on the phone, which led me to believe that she was still at work for some reason, but then again, had I been in Kyle�s position, I would�ve been just as worried as he was. We tried to drive to Schnucks and see her, but the damn sweetcorn festival was blocking like 8 city blocks and drunks were stumbling around everywhere, so we had to take detour after detour. She was there, though, so it was a sigh of relief. When she did get off work, we came back, watched �Scrubs,� and I had some dynamite Sixlets. At least my distrust of sleep has returned. A fire alarm went off at around 2. Pretty big ordeal. All sort of emergency vehicles came and everything. Too bad it was just some retarded drunko. Idiots.

I wonder if the bird in the garage got out.

There was this bird that got caught in our garage on the day I was leaving, and it so didn�t get the concept of flying down. It just hovered at the ceiling and perched on the same three spots in the same order over and over. �Well, maybe this time this will help me to escape!� Poor stupid bird. I kept yelling at it.

I won't be soothed,
Nate