HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

08/02/2003 - 1:33 a.m. | i'm as smart as i am ugly

Well, I don't really want to update right at this moment, but life is full of stuff you don't necessarily really want to do, so bite the bullet, assface, and make it snappy.

Just another day of welding at work today. Snake King is still missing (my theory is that he's out somewhere shedding his skin), but Travo has gloriously returned. Oh - and apparently Andrew isn't Andrew; he's Jon. Let's just call him Andrew anyway, though. So I welded, made my $85+, whatever. Harve was wearing a pink t-shirt today. Really. I guess at one point, the factory sponsored a girls' soccer team, and he has one of the shirts. I want one really badly, but I was afraid he'd overcharge me. Then again, I seem to be on his good side or something. He talked to me about how well I was doing and kept calling me "guy." Great. Tim asked if I could work Saturday. "I can't." "You can't?" he replied, expecting an explanation. "I can't." What more do you need? After work, I got a way too big milkshake from McDonald's and drove triumphantly home for more "Dark Angel."

Justin called, and I drove to his place so that we could rock the Riverfest (bleh). It was their friend Laura's birthday as well, but they couldn't get the envelope for her Aaron Carter card sealed (after we had turned around to go get it, of course). Luckily, I had a) my lighter and b) chapstick. Ingenuity. Brief stop at Walgreens and then on to Laura's to park the car. As we started walking towards Bianchi's for pizza, this group of three old women who had formerly been watching a tree turned their attention to us. "Where you goin'?!" one asked us. "Riverfest," Justin spat bitterly. Apparently, they're just nosy bitches who wanted to know why people were parking near their house. Justin was really curt, so I tried to smooth things over. Pretty long walk to Bianchi's ("5 more blocks... 5 more blocks...") and then met everyone. I am a bigger fan of pineapple than I thought. I didn't really talk to anybody I didn't know (I suck), but that's OK because they didn't really either.

From there, we walked to Riverfest, which is just a big, stupid gathering of big, stupid people from Ottawa. It sucks very much if you aren't drunk, so everyone else tried to remedy this problem. Meanwhile, Justin's Lisa, this guy Alex, and myself all took turns rolling down this huge, super steep hill and more or less dying as we fell. It certainly made my jeans far more punk rock. I need new ones. Later, Alex played a primitve game of bowling, using himself as the ball, chairs as pins, and alcohol as fuel. It was easily the coolest thing I saw all day. The band playing was all right enough, and everyone was certainly chatty, but I still felt a little out of place. It was almost entirely couples, and then, like, me. All was forgotten when we rode on the crappy Giant Drop ripoff ride at the carnival. Best 2.2 seconds ever. Worth every penny of the $4.50 I spent. How many panels is that?

Everyone was nice and gabby, but I just... yeah, I'm a freak, I guess. I have trouble talking sometimes. I guess I coulda seen this as some opportunity to meet "girls" or whatever, but man... girls are dumb. I don't want to meet someone like that in that place... or those people who all sort of kind of look alike... not that I ever would, of course, because I don't talk because I hate making any first move because it seems like it would be such an unwelcome annoyance. It's foolish for me to wait for one of them to make a move, but I'll die alone anyway... why put myself through unnecessary stress along the way?

A little after midnight, they booted us out of the park or whatever. Most of our group went to a bar, but stupid Nate is still too young, so I walked with Lisa and Justin back to the Bronco Dos (bazillion miles away). All Justin could talk about was his "Nut Poppers," which are some new icky peanut snack he wanted or something. Close to where we parked, this biker looking guy came towards us from his yard and asked if we had a lighter. Damn right, I do! So he pulled out this big Roman candle explosive device of some sort and was like, "You didn't see this." I lit the fuse, and it shot a cannon ball thing up into the air and exploded. This is why I carry a lighter.

Drove Justin and Lisa home listening to Guster and drove myself home listening to Guster. Now, I'm looking forward to sleep, so I guess I'll get to it.

I won't be soothed,
Nate