HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

06/23/2003 - 9:55 p.m. | and what you wish for won't come true

Well, that was a pretty short weekend. *mumbles something about "Takin' Care of Business" by Bachman Turner Overdrive - I don't know what the something is, which is why I made it an action*

Hours: 7.5 (7-2:30, without lunch)
$$$: $80.woo
CDs:
-"Hail to the Thief" - Radiohead
-"Lost and Gone Forever" - Guster
-"Utopia Parkway" - Fountains of Wayne
-"Exile in Guyville" - Liz Phair
-"Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" - Wilco

First off, if I were a boxer, I'd call myself Al Punchino. It's not even a good pun, but that's part of the magic. Secondly, minibikes (is that even a word?) have the most annoying engines in the world and are circling my house. Anyway, moving on to my excrutiatingly normal day: Up at 6 and questioned the futility of life for 20 minutes, followed by showering. Got out the door before my dad had even left; now there's a change! I was too full of hatred to even attempt listening to the radio. I just put on the Buick's shabby cruise control and glided (CLONK CLONK) to work.

Harve and Snake King were already there, and they were fucking excited! They stuck me on the welder right away, and came back at different times. "Notice anything different?!!?!?!" cried a very manic Harve. "Uhm... No?" "The welder is running faster than EVER BEFORE!" he cackled and ran off. Snake King, shortly thereafter: "Notice anything new with the welder?" "Uhh... it's running faster?" "You noticed?" "No, Harve told me." :( I rain on so many parades, but I am quite right in thinking they need an outside hobby. So, I guess to make the best of this new... speedification, they brought in some old man ("Lowell?") to bend panels while I welded them. Now, this is OK enough for me. I did some quick figuring and the machine makes a panel about every 12 seconds. $12 an hour. But, poor old man, even running at top speed (and he was not running at top speed) would only be making like $4.50 an hour. I thought of mentioning this to someone, but then there would be speeches, and I wouldn't make money, and I have the compassion of a Hun while at work (Huns being known for their lack of compassion), so that plan fizzled. He made about $18 the whole morning.

Not too much was going on for me today. Just weld weld weld. It was pretty warm out, so I got sweaty, which is always enjoyable. I love salt water pouring from my pores! Love it! Loving the Guster album... and Radiohead is swell or whatever. When I first heard "Myxomatosis," it reminded me of zombie bunny rabbits hopping around and attacking people for their brains. I wasn't far off. Still don't much like the second Fountains of Wayne album - guess I'll keep trying. Man, nothing to talk about. I skipped lunch, so I could come home from work early and read and eat molasses cookies. This was done accordingly.

Time passed by too quickly, and soon it was already 5:30. Dinner started a little late, and I ate a little slow, so I didn't give myself much time to get to class. Dad let me use his car again, which I am gettign addicted to. Don't get me wrong; I love my Buick. But I love it because it sucks so damn much. Should I ever earn grown up money, I want a nice happy car like the Maxima. But not white. Ew - hate white cars. And red. Not really fond of black either, but that would do.

Ah, class. I try to pay attention, but the class is simply not conducive to that. We talk about demand and supply instead of supply and demand. Whoop dee shit. I've taken to writing my letters to VESteltenpohl (er - Nessers) in there just to pass the time. During our break, I went outside and lied on a hill. Birds flew over, and I thought about the things that I think about. It was nice, but it made going back to class even harder. I have to find something even more engrossing than talking to the mutants around me or whatever. Drove home (sunroof down, wind!!! eeee), sat here, the end.

I won't be soothed,
Nate