HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

06/19/2003 - 9:27 p.m. | two points for honesty

Big thanks to VESteltenpohl for providing the majority of today's music. In fact, I am so appreciative that I might actually start referring to her by her given name (that, or rechristen her "Nessers" because it reminds me of "nanners," and bananas are good!). Anyway, she sent me a bunch of Russian music, which it turns out I actually really like (kind of expected to like it ironically or as a gimmick or something, but some of the music is just really, really good - and it's kind of fun having no idea what they're singing about) - especially, uh, Checchyerina. Yes.

Hours: 8 (10-6)
$$$: $66.6 (coincidence?)
CDs:
-"Proud Like a God" - Guano Apes
-??? - Checchyerina
-"Russian Mix" - Various artists
-"Don't Give Me Names" - Guano Apes
-"Welcome Interstate Managers" - Fountains of Wayne
-"Lost and Gone Forever" - Guster

Sad to say it, but it's good to be back working full days again. Gives me something to do with my time. Not that I couldn't have a better job, though! Please note that! God? Are you there? It's me, Margaret. I'M HAVING MY PERIOD.

Anyway, the whiner Tom hurt his shoulder or something, so he got to weld all day while I got stuck winding. On what is apparently the sucky winder. Everyone hates it. Says it's hard to line up. So let's give it to the kid without depth perception!! Jerks. Sometimes it's very obvious that I can't judge distances worth a shit. Damn you fully-functional humans. Anyway, I wound for 7 hours and welded for the last hour, making pretty icky money, but that's OK. The time went by pretty fast, thanks to all the new music. The new Fountains of Wayne album is adorable! It makes me want to hug people! But that's why I have pillows >:O The Guster album will take a little longer to grow on me fully, but "Either Way" is so pretty. It has potential to be another song that makes me tear up, but I still need the requisite memory associated with it like all the other songs like that. Song fuels memory which fuels song, so they become interconnected in my mind. I have a pretty good one in mine. And of course I plan my memories in advance. You mean you don't?!

I am hilariously incapable of correctly steering a pallet jack, although not through lack of effort. Moving things around takes me forever, but I just keep at it until it happens. I have spirit, dammit. Speaking of which, it is hard to act like a forlorn factory worker when you walk around carrying a Hello Kitty lunchbox. Tim commented on it ("Nice lunchbox - heh heh heh"). I contemplated giving him a speech on how I am confident enough in my masculinity that it doesn't matter what lunchbox I use, and why the hell aren't you carrying a Hello Kitty lunchbox, you pansy... but I didn't.

Same old thoughts pulled me through the day... Bleh. But I was thinking, and I have half a mind to dress up as Seth from From Dusk 'till Dawn for Halloween (despite looking absolutely nothing like George Clooney - I hate being monstrous). I mean, for one, he just has tons of awesome lines. "Vampire killers, let's kill some fucking vampires!" "If you have a question, Mr. .44 will answer it for you." And my personal favorite, "We're fuckin' in Mexico, you little piece of fucking shit!" Pretty much he doesn't say a line that's not perfect. More importantly (and as you have no doubt guessed), I would like to construct a replica of the Stake-O-Matic. No one would have any idea who I was, but what else is new?

Oh - and I came up with a joke! What did one art restorer say to another? "If it ain't Baroque, don't fix it." LOLOLOLOL! Right?

Shoutin Whispers: you didn't make that up
mrkrazy 11: FUCK
mrkrazy 11: Well, I came up with it independently of whoever did

Meanwhile, I was welding, and I checked my little counter, and it said 111. I double-checked that it said 111. Not 177. "WTF," I thought. "I figured I had more than that! I'm screwed! I wish I had at least 200 done." And then, like 5 minutes later, I check the counter again. 205. Do you know what this means? I GOT ONE WISH AND I WASTED IT ON BULLSHIT WELDING! All the stuff I could've had! Flying cars, money, happiness! But no - 205 fucking welded and bent panels. Be careful what you wish for.

Left shortly thereafter. I was listening to XRT on the drive home, and for their new releases day, they were gonna play a game where they played a new song and you could call in and identify who it was by. So, song starts up. From the first notes, Joe Jackson cover - "Is She Really Going Out With Him?" (I have a bit of a talent for identifying songs in the opening notes). Singer starts up - Mark McGrath obviously. So, Sugar Ray, right? Then I hear the record scratches. Oh yes - definitely Sugar Ray. That's how they improve upon covers these days (they did it with Steve Miller's "Abracadabra" and Britney Spears did it in both her cover of "Satisfaction" and "I Love Rock and Roll"). I know so many worthless things. Still, it made my ride home. And now I just gotta hope I can download it.

Arrived home in time to see the pergola being completed. Damn expensive set of monkey bars, if you ask me. Then a couple sitcoms ("Friends" actually made me LOL tonight, which was surprising), followed by work on a construction paper crocodile and watching From Dusk 'till Dawn again. Speaking of which, I should get back to that.

I won't be soothed,
Nate