HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

06/18/2003 - 10:09 p.m. | your crazy kitten smile

Work is a lot more fun when you aren't, uh, working.

Hours: 4 (12:30-4 or so)
$$$: $47.something
CDs:
-"Exile in Guyville" - Liz Phair
-"Have You Fed the Fish?" - Badly Drawn Boy
-"No One is Really Beautiful" - Jude

So, I putzed around here for a while, as I am known to do, eventually showering and whatever. Called the mechanic's, and he said he'd just finished my car, so I hopped on my bike and took off for Serena. As the fucking Bob Seger song says, I was against the wind most of the way, but it was still really pleasant - the best part of my day, I think. Some little kids were playing in an inflatable pool, and they all screamed hi at me. That made me happy, so I rang my bell at then. Arrived in Serena eventually (sweaty!)and picked up the car. Good as new. Uhhh... No. But better than before.

Started to head towards work when I realized that I would get there at around 11, and there'd be nothing for me to, and I'd just waste time while Snake King tried to ponder something. Fuck that, I'll waste my own damn time, so I drove to Aurora (practically Yorkville's sister city *snort*) and hit up Borders and Best Buy. Bought CDs (costing pretty much what I made today, but that's OK) and learned that there's gonna be a Harry Potter midnight party at Borders! With OWLS! It would be entertaining for me to go, but scheduling seems difficult. Unless:

Friday, 10-6 - work
7-12:30 - Harry Potter
Saturday, 1-8:30 - work
8:30-12 - sleep
12:30-??? - HULK and From Justin to Kelly with Dank!!

Problem solved. Grabbed lunch and drove back to Yorkville, arriving only, uh, slightly late (but I had an excuse lined up already and how many times does that happen?) Work is dreadfully boring to bike riding and driving around (I have a farmer tan :D), but it gets the job done. Informed Snake King about my class - looks like I'll be starting early soon, which has both its pros and cons. Pretty standard day. No time for work craziness, just crappy, repetitive welding.

Made the mistake of wearing shorts today (for some reason I thought it would be hot). Instead it rained. A lot. Like, Noah a lot. Pretty terrifying going home, and then I realized I didn't have any gas and had to go back into Sheridan. Death. Oh so nutritious Spaghettios for dinner, and then back on the road to class, at which point, it began to downpour again (not a sinner, I swear!)

Holy shit, is class ever boring. I mean, I can see the merit of the group work we did - [my group was full of mutants, but nice mutants. In customary fashion, I led. I am what they call a clutch player. I avoid contact with anyone unless I absolutely must, but I lead like a beast when pressure is on... I wasn't always like this. In fifth grade, for instance I had to write a paper about Uranus on the way back from a field trip. Now, somehow I already knew lots of stuff about the planet already (which is strange and impressive to me), but I was freaking about stupid things, like how to spell "information." I'm better now] - but then he essentially went through last class all over again... and then he went through today's even slower! So many made up terms for things which should be common sense. Sooo painful. He didn't hand out the worksheets ahead of time, so I have actual homework. Whoop dee shit. He gave us a 20 minute break, which was nice of him, but it didn't do me any good. Didn't talk to anybody, and it just meant I had to stay later. Arg. He should just hand us the worksheets and let us leave. The end. Not too many things make me really impatient, but this class does. Knots form in my stomach. And then I sprint out. And here I am. Going for the world record of "pissing off Lisa to the point where she signs off or blocks me or whatever." I suppose I could just send her an IM that says "CUNT" in huge letters, but that's hardly worth it. That's like a world-class fencer saying, "Why don't I just get a gun and shoot her?" Where's the art of that?

I don't have music by a lot of female artists (theory being I am either a misogynist or just don't like voices that are too pretty), so I've been compiling a list of stuff I should get. Actually, stuff you should get me... because I'm never gonna waste my money on it!

Avril Lavigne - "Let Go"
Sarah McLachlan - "Surfacing"
Melissa Ethridge - "Yes I Am"
Kelly Clarkson - "Thankful"
Robyn - "Robyn is Here"
Jewel - "0304"
Lisa Loeb - "Tails" Tori Amos - "Little Earthquakes"
Kylie Minogue - "Fever"
Natalie Imbruglia - "Left of the Middle"
Christina Aguilera - "Mi Reflejo"

Yeah, that's enough. Jesus - more than enough. I would add Britney Spears of course, but I seem to already own one of her albums. OMGWTF - that is soooo getting listened to tomorrow. Also Paula Cole. Hmmm - you know, if I got a few things on that list, I could totally have a GRRRRRL theme Friday! I'll think about it.

Well, you're all too good for me. Duh. Stupid high standards.

I won't be soothed,
Nate