HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

05/22/2003 - 10:24 p.m. | and the water running over me is growing ever colder

Hours worked: 8 (10-6)
Funds swindled: $85.something
CDs:
-"The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner" - Ben Folds Five
-"Maladroit" - Weezer
-"Too Far to Care" - Old 97's
-"Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" - Wilco

Slept six hours and woke up perky fresh this morning. So, this means that there is some perfect amount of time I need to sleep to function correctly. Too little, I'm exhausted. Too much, I'm not really awake. Whatever. Left the house really late (had some sort of death heartburn from my meds or something) and arrived at work 20 minutes late. Everyone pretends not to notice. Snake King was working feverishly yesterday on cutting rounded notches in pieces of cardboard, see "because a rounded notch in cardboard is more professional than a triangular one" blah blah blah I don't know why, so he had to spend countless hours designing a rounded notch cutter. This is why I worked on winding string all of yesterday. Today, I assume the notch cutter was complete, but he hadn't actually cut any notches because he's FUCKING USELESS. "I gotta move this pallet mumble mumble why don't you go wind some more string?" No matter, though. This is fine by me. I make plenty winding string. Things are all fine and dandy for me. If I had to give a shit about the factory's well-being itself, however, I would be very worried, as it is being commanded by an inept lizard monarch. While he fucks around with his mumble mumble pallets, the cardboard things aren't made, so I can't work on them, so they can't be shipped, so the order just sits around. But I just wind my string and hum to myself because I know I'm not dragging the place into the pooper for $10 an hour. I earn my keep. There are just hundreds of useless piles of string sitting around. And they pay me for it.

OK, welding all afternoon. I'm getting scary good. At around 4, I get this burst of energy and started leaping around. Everyone else sort of drags themselves around, but since I do have music and since I am just a teensy bit queer, I kind of dance everywhere. I leap from spot to spot on tiptoe and slide backwards and twirl the wire and stuff. It keeps me entertained, and I think I might be the fastest welder there now... A truck driver came to drop off a load or pick one up or something (I don't pay attention), but he was watching me for like 20 minutes as I pranced around. I truly am impressive at this. I got screwed talentwise. OH MAN - Travo had the best shirt on today! It was black with lightning! and a rattlesnake! and a car! on it!! That is the most insane, badassinest combination of random items ever! And it was on both the front and back so that you can't accidentally put it on backwards (which I assume is a common problem for the type of person who buys those shirts). I kid, I kid! I was little better in my tiny, tiny obnoxious teal "Wednesday Wanderings" t-shirt. *giggle* I kept showing off my midriff! It was fun; I can see why girls do it. More tiny t-shirts and bending over, I think. From me, not girls. I need to tan a little, though. Unfortunately, I spend prime tanning hours indoors. I've been thinking about this much lately. My day is divided into thirds: 1/3 at work, 1/3 sleeping, 1/3 free time. What would be the best way to use this time? Well, the obvious answer is to eliminate sleep, but that hasn't worked yet, so I'm thinking like the 2 - 10 am shift at the factory. I could scream all I wanted then. OK, poor logic.

It was so nice having music back today! The time went by a million times faster. I wasn't really creative with my CD selections today - I just wanted to get reacquainted with some old friends. >:O Monitor cord is loose and keeps making things look like pea soup. OK, dunno about you, but music gets associated with certain events and feelings in my life. Like, the J. Geils Band's "Centerfold" is associated with death and destruction because that's what I was listening to when I got in my car accident or Lifehouse's "Hanging by a Moment" is associated with summertime and Lisa courting me in her bizarre little way. I do it a lot. A song can feel like summer or winter to me. "I'm With You" is the week before school started and I hung out with Kyle and Spritz at Europa and we didn't sleep :D Anyway, these always happen by accident (do you think I'd really choose those songs? OK, you're prolly right), but I'm wondering what would happen if I tried inoculating one instead. I think Weezer's "Burndt Jamb" is like the perfect summer song... solely on tune. I haven't looked up the lyrics because they might be really creepy and ruin it for me. Example: I used to think Radiohead's "Climbing Up the Walls" was a really sexy song, but the lyrics are all disturbing and about madness and ick. No. Maybe I just have bad taste. Anyway, I might declare "Burndt Jamb" as the summer 2003 song just to see if it works. So expect to hear it. A lot. Also "Clocks." Stupid radio.

Sorry if my thoughts are a little jumbled. Just one of those moods. Speaking of which, Kyle is in a really paranoid state right now and came to me. Now there's the other side of the coin for you! I know exactly what he's feeling, but I can't help him anymore than I could help myself. You just gotta tough it out (or, in my case, get hepped up on drugs). I mean, I knew it was always hopeless trying to fix my own paranoia, but it's new being the one trying to help someone who is paranoid (OK, not entirely new, but his paranoia is more like my own - although Kyle's special, uh, confidence manages to seep in nonetheless)

Grades are in. My wonderful little 4.0 got turned into a 3.61. Damn you, math. I'll spend the rest of college trying to cover that up. On the plus side, I am done with all my gen eds :D And hopefully, I can stop sucking at life. Next tangent: So, before I went to the dentist, my mouth felt fine. I go, they mumble something about my wisdom teeth, rotate an x-ray about my head, and all of sudden my gums hurt all the time. One of my wisdom teeth is even coming in now! I'm sure it wasn't like a week ago! I'm pretty sure their little "x-ray" was really a tooth growing machine! Dentistry is a scam.

I won't be soothed,
Nate