HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

05/01/2003 - 9:58 a.m. | and now... she's got helicopters

I have to write quickly because a) I am so long-winded and b) because I'm running on borrowed time. See, I think I have my brain sufficiently fooled that the 2.5 hours of sleep I got was actually a nap, and that I should be feeling rested. The trick won't last long, though, so I gotta say my peace (piece?) quickly.

I finally realized why I've been so bored lately: Nothing to read. A book usually fills in the gaps for me (yes, I am lame), and I don't have anything new around, so I guess I'm gonna reread the Harry Potter series, hopefully finishing in time for the new book. By the way, Harry is turning out to be quite the hottie. See for yourself. Anyway, so I finally had something to kill time with, so I did that until Spritz got back from class. Then we got haircuts!! Uhh - yeah. It looks OK. It's sort of poofy, and Spritz says he likes it that way (more akin to my personality or something), but I guess I like it smashed down better. That must represent something. I so wasn't in the mood for chit-chat with the stylist. I am quite the ass.

Back here to read more, and then Michelle and I had an AIM conversation almost entirely in Spanish! It's been a long time since I did that shit, so I'm pretty rusty. Also, I write boring things >:O Waited for Spritz to finish his laundry (yes, he actually did laundry - it was cute; he was such a newbie) and then proceeded to meet Shelly (but not Kyle) and head to Empire. Last time I had orange chicken, and it was pretty good, but apparently everything else there just sucks. At least if you ask Spritz (because he's a whiny bitch when it comes to Asian cuisine), and I tend to agree at least a bit. Bubble tea afterwards - and Scrabble - but everyone was hassling me to play faster, so they all suck and I hate them. I prolly could've gotten second place, but bitch ho Shelly was like, "MYARH! Just put something down! My ass is HUGE and I want to play the word 'poetry!'" Not bitter.

After that, back to Europa, then back to ISR, giving me 2 opportunities to see the giant, vacant woman in an old shitty car with the license plate "OH WHY 1" *giggle* Date auction at ISR, which is amusing to watch and mock. Favorites included the Joker (big, big creepy twitchy smile) and the big white nerd who bought some tiny little Asian girl... Actually, everyone is hilarious, I think. I would never, ever participate in one of those things, though. Such an ego smasher. One poor guy only got $8 :( Poor senior in CS with a terribly, terribly queer voice. I'd prolly get 5, if it makes you feel better.

Returned here after that to choke down a few aspirin and read more, plus the Flaming Lips' "Turn It On" video. As always regarding these sorts of things, Lisa was eventually right; it's a pretty good video. I just don't like the girls in it (especially smashed lip) The lights are cute, though :D Was feeling vaguely sort of ill (warm and maybe upset tummy), but I went over to Lisa's to drop off a fish bowl for her incredibly cute fish and watch "American Idol" clips. Trenyce sang "Love Will Keep Us Together," which is the best song in the whole damn world. I made Lisa download it so I could dance. Josh sucked shit. Somehow the former was booted off. Stupid democracy. We hugged.

YOUNG AND BEAUTIFUL, SOMEDAY YOUR LOOKS WILL BE GONE / WHEN THE OTHERS TURN YOU OFF, WHO'LL BE TURNIN' YOU ON? / I WILL, I WILL, I WILLLLLLLLLL

Busey-Evans with Spritz, Michelle, and Will then to eat the terribly mediocre food (even the coffee sucked) and discuss the finer points of making rocket boats. For some reason, they made me sit next to some studying girl, so I couldn't sing or be loud. I wonder why they did that. :|

Back to the apartment, and I wanted to sing, but I was unanimously voted down (fuckers), so I went off on my own to wander the streets. And did I ever. Well, first I started off by just sitting in the middle of the lane divider on Lincoln. I highly recommend it. Cars whip by on both sides and the lights are pretty, and it's just a cool view. It didn't hurt that it was absolutely gorgeous outside.

After a while, I got worried that cops would hassle me about danger or something, so I started to head towards Krannert, thinking I could sit by the ampitheatre. Unfortunately, timing was off or something because two people were going up right in front of me. I followed, just in case they were just cutting across. When I got to the top, they were both kind of waiting for me up there. And one of them was Victoria! She and her friend thought I was some sort of attacker, so they were getting ready to beat the shit out of me. Her friend had 911 all dialed up and ready to go. I'm vaugely flattered that they could consider me a threat, but I didn't mean to scare them, so I apologized loads. From there, I covered a lot of the rest of campus. Down to Allen, across Gregory to the Morrow Plots, up the quad to Green, past Granger up to Springfield, across Springfield to Lincoln, crazy back alley Western Ave. to Coler, past new apartment, back to Lincoln to sit in the median thing again (fun), and back home.

I was hardly noticed on my return, so I figured I'd be hardly noticed if I went to sit out on the balcony. Oh, man - so nice now that it's finally clean! The weather was just great! Sat in floor chair and spaced off looking at the sky and talking to myself a little (I know, freak) It was really, really good. Now that I've experienced it; I don't want to lose it next year. Such a good thinking spot!

I guess the point is that I was in a weird, contemplative sort of mood. What the fuck else is new?

Spent a good 2 hours out there until it got cold and I started to see lightning. Then I kind of collapsed on the DDR pads while Will and Michelle played some basketball game. Will kept saying he was letting Shelly win, just because it frustrated her so much, and the game commentary was just idiotic. Couldn't quite sleep and couldn't quite stay awake either. Eventually, Shelly decided that they should prolly leave, which meant that she turned the lights off and asked me to tell stories.

The trend seems to be as follows: Nate tells stories, everyone falls asleep. Nate tells stories, everyone falls asleep. I am a God damn Jigglypuff.

So, I started to tell about something, but Will (yes, I am mentioning your name - actually... I think I'll put it in bold) began to add his own asides and then Michelle hers, so it became more of a roundtable, which is good because then no one falls asleep, and I feel less boring. Meanwhile, Kyle worked on his website, freaked out about mono ("Are my lymph nodes big?"), and talked about how marshmallow Peeps suck ("i'd rather eat a shit filled blister than peeps"). 6 o'clock rolled around and everyone filled home, but apparently didn't fall asleep. I did, however, and woke up for history 2.5 hours later. Tamara did some boring globalization stuff and then went on this tangent about seeking knowledge or some sappy end of semester thing. Also DJ Solaar or something. Meh. Which brings us back to d'oh. Prolly should sleep, prolly should not accomplish anything.

As the cover of my notebook says, college ruled.

I won't be soothed,
Nate