HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

04/24/2003 - 4:31 a.m. | i'm probably missing some things

Hello, 4:30. Haven't seen you for a while.

So, serotonin is a neurotransmitter (more or less a chemical signal fired between neurons in the brain), and one of the things it does is it inhibits aggression. As I understand it, I am taking a pill that sort of prevents the serotonin from being shot off. It sits around in the neurons and builds up. This freaks my body out, so my brain starts making less of it, and it becomes less sensitive to the stuff that is still shot off. This is what's going on in my brain right now. Effectively, I am supposed to become more aggressive. This should lead to all sorts of crazy effects. I don't know why I'm talking about this right now.

Actually, I found a connection! "Sleep onset latency is reduced with tryptophan which is the amino acid needed by the brain for the synthesis of serotonin. This finding suggests that serotonin may play a role in sleep induction." I thought the whole tryptophan thing was a myth (isn't that what's supposed to be in turkey?), but if it explains why I am still up, yes. Damn you, lack of serotonin.

Kyle and Spritz are chatting it up in their room before they fall asleep. I am envious. What will it be like next year?

I read for a bit today (all I ever do is read... and fail math), and then I crashed for an hour or several. Kyle came back and we went to take a movie back and drop off a job ap at Schnucks. I was wearing Dank's Adidas sandals, which have these little bumps on them to massage your feet or something, but I think they hurt like hell, especially barefoot. So, I came out of Schnucks in these things, and I run up to Kyle in the car, and he doesn't see me (he says) and keeps driving away from me, so I'm running through the parking lot with all these baby steps, and I'm cussing because it hurts >:O End of story.

Back here for "American Idol" (woo) and then Kyle went to work. I went along (logically) and then drove his car back (logically). His muffler is about to fall off, so inclines are a terrifying experience. It's like brain surgery. Text Twist with Will and Michelle until Spritz got back for Busey. We had quite the word scrambling trifecta going on. Then same old stuff at B-E. Truly, it has gone downhill since Will left. It seems like we discussed amusing things, but I can't really recall, and you might not think so anyway, but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

Back home and then more Text Twist. Lis came over with her trippy new phone ("Can Can" + technicolor blinking screen) and I walked her back to Allen where we played a game better than Text Twist (Bookworm, si si) and took an awesome picture, which I will not describe at this time. Remembered suddenly that I was supposed to give Kyle a ride back, so I ran home (this seems insane), but he drove by in someone else's ride as I did, so yippie. Chores were done (room inspects tomorrow), and then they tossed around this little ball and didn't do physics until I stole the ball and Will chased me around the neighborhood. Fun.

Tried my hand at the Harry Potter game, but mostly I would shout out spell names, which is obnoxious. Sage and Kristen (ok, obviously that is spelled wrong because there is no way it is the normal spelling because I am always, always wrong about these) stopped by, and we all walked to the gas station for... adventure. A car alarm song got stuck in my head. Ooh - the birds. Damn it, Nate.

Back here again for more of that lovable little wizard, but Michelle went crazy, so we started conversing in Spanish. It's fun when you don't have to be entirely correct. Or coherent. At some point, Kyle and I wrestled. It's on tape, if you'd like to see. Also groggy shirtless Dank. I was catapaulted down the hallway, too, which is pretty neat. And some discussion of farts and boobs. You know, the usual. Then everybody left all at once, leaving Nate alone on the DDR pads. To cry.

Man, Kyle farted right on my head.

I won't be soothed,
Nate