HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

04/24/2003 - 11:03 a.m. | hmmm hmmm hmm hmm hmm hmmm

Morning, ladies!

OK, bad start.

So, I had a nice little plan set up at about 5:30 this morning. Go to sleep for 3 hours, go to history for an hour, come back here and crash until I felt nominal again. This plan didn't end up so good. I had an awful night's sleep. It took 45 minutes for me to doze off at first, and then I kept waking up at shorter and shorter intervals. Half an hour... 20 minutes... 10... 8:30 rolled around (time to get up, assemble myself in some small way, and get to class), and there was no way I could function. My brain felt like it does after like 36 hours of no sleep. Not cool. So, tried to doze off again. 10 minute intervals. Oh, man!

And then, I started to notice this music coming from somewhere! I couldn't pinpoint its direction, but it sort of sounded like really soft humming... but not real humming, you know? Like a musical instrument designed to fake humming. Sometimes you could tell; sometimes not. There was harmony and dissonance here and there. The song being played kind of reminded me of a rambling, countryish version of "Mary Had a Little Lamb," and it just kept going! Not so loud that I could complain about it really, but loud enough that it was all pervading and any attempt to sleep or think of something else would fail. It gradually drove me nuts until I ran out into the hallway to see if it was there. No dice. Spritz woke up, and I dragged him in here to listen as well. He think it's the bowling ball droppers upstairs. Guess we'll see. But no, I don't feel particularly rested. And yes, cry me a river. It is my own damn fault for staying up so late.

I won't be soothed,
Nate