HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

03/21/2003 - 2:33 p.m. | tigre

So, where were we? Kyle dropped by, I popped on "Pinkerton," and we bopped down by Prospect to check on a few more jobs and the like. Stopped by Toys BACKWARDS R Us and saw Zimos (yeah, he works there - his nametag even says "Zimos" on it *giggle*). Tried 2 hula hoops at once and failed miserably... Hit Borders, Barnes & Noble, and Best Buy in the hopes of finding a few new CDs. I did. $40 worth :| So stupid, Nate. Oh, well. I console myself (sorta) by thinking how I will be working all next week, and should earn somewhere between $300-400 (if I apply myself, which may or may not be an issue). This is offset by the fact that I will not be doing anything the least bit fun the whole time. No, I am not exaggerating.

Came back here, cleaned a little (boy, this is quite the tedious), and then read "The Colored Museum" for theatre... It was another one of those plays that was sort of over my head. Like, absurd = meaningful! Kyle tried to take the play away from me (so I'd read stories about ninjas), but I kind of... tackled him or something. I smashed his lip up and he bit my arm pretty hard. I'd call it a draw. Then some hardcore last dance DDRing (as Michelle was coming over to steal it back later) and hairstyling with Will. Kyle came back from dinner, and he was all sick or something (whiner), but I convinced him to go to the concert with Michelle and myself. Will came along too. We were a pretty scuzzy crew. So we sat in the front row.

I dunno - maybe it's because I tend to listen to such obnoxious stuff most of the time, but it was really nice hearing pretty melodies and whatnot. For once, I liked the slow songs better than the fast ones. And the Great Hall had pretty good acoustics. But yeah, it made everyone else sleepy, so I was the only awake for parts of it (especially during this one song called "Sleep" - they just kept going, "Sleeeeeeeep sleeeeeeep" over and over, really low. So they did). After the first half, we moved all the way to the back, and then everyone was awake. "Danny Boy" almost made me cry. Fucking "Danny Boy." And I ate a piece of old gum with Kyle and Will's collective plucked chin hairs on it. What does this make me? All in all, good show :) Weird how they're gonna be in Russia in like 2 days. Transposition is nuts.

Everyone came back here, and we had some DDRing for a while (double mat, which is exhausting... gross, sweaty monster), followed by a trip for bubble tea (and the Counting Crows' "Hangingaround"). I got... a little off there for a bit. I do that sometimes. Sort of contemplative, and I sing to myself quietly. It's creepy, I would think. So sorry. Will left and the rest of us stayed up and talked for a while (correction: Kyle and Michelle talked; I spaced out mostly because I am not knowledgable of anything apparently). We didn't steal any apple chips. Michelle eventually conked out, and Kyle was busy DDRing, so I was gonna hit the sack myself, but then everybody just sorta reawoke briefly. Then, forces shifted or something, and I started to conk out while Michelle and Kyle spun their web of lies. Then, forces realigned again, and we all looked through the creepy stalker journal I found at Moonstruck. We've had insights, so sharing is always good. Then, Michelle and Kyle started to get sleepy again, so I sat between them and told some stories (apparently, I am the orator of the group... this is my talent. Or something) while they dozed fetally on both sides of me (cute). At around 5, I finished and went to bed.

Today, woke up at 9 (if you recall, the plan was 8, but that's inconceivable), and went to math, which was ass terrible. As I didn't have time to ask, I fudged my way through the two problems I didn't do... Occasionally, I'd look up at the board and see something sorta pertinent, I thought, so I'd add it in as well. Jesus, so fucking dumb. I was thoroughly depressed by that. Then, a lousy entomology lecture (it was about lice! GET IT?!) and lunch / Phenomenom (John Travolta? Oh, yes) / "A-Tean" with Lisaphone. I didn't go to discovery section because it was about fly fishing, and I was practically stabbing myself in the face during the first lecture about it. I couldn't take a second. So yes, now I am here. Work tonite and then loneliness :( because everyone will be gone. Oh, well - it's good warm up. Happy spring break, kids!

"and to take on the world at all angles / requires a strength I can't use"

I won't be soothed,
Nate