HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

11/13/2002 - 10:48 a.m. | uncreative title: my root beer is flat

Brief wrap-up of events:

In Sociology, my TA finally hated the articles we read just about as much as I usually do. The only time I'll ever participate is to complain about how bad the articles or how stupid it is that we sit around giving personal examples when we're supposed to be talking about sociology. But yeah, today she agreed that this one dude who justified poverty was an idiot (it was all lame rationalization; I could do the same thing with theft: "People have to replace stolen objects, thus helping the economy") and that the McDonaldization article was wrong about people always being stuck in jobs (although I was mostly pissy that they kept saying "McDonaldization" and "Mc Jobs" over and over... Yes, they are clever terms. Please stop).

Then it was a mostly boring afternoon for me 'cause I didn't have anything to do, and I didn't have enough energy to work on one of my own projects, so I sat around and beat "Um Jammer Lammy" over and over again. Lame lame lame. They had lobster at the dorms for dinner, which is just psycho. I ate mac and cheese >:o Eventually, I had to go to some boring ass psych experiment (the letters "H" and "T" would pop up on a computer screen; you clicked left when you saw one and right when you saw the other... After about half an hour, I just mashed buttons), and I finally had my astronomy night observing session. It was pretty useless because there were so many people there, but I saw Saturn (pretty!), and the moon looked all big and pimply (much like myself). Now I have 2 reports to write, though, so yay! Something to do!

Grabbed a chocky chai and ran to Allen to meet Lis and see this cartoonist (Keith Knight) speak. He looked like sort of a badass, but he's pretty cute. If only I ever found comics funny. And Allen kids are so out to prove themselves. Jeez - this white girl was all like, "Yeah - I don't like the thug image they always show black people with." And the guy was like, "Imagine how I feel." And another guy was shouting out quotes from local politicans and then another girl corrected his quotes because he was WRONG, if you can imagine!! Ugh - what dorks.

Eventually came back here and hung out with Kyle. We had yet another slumber party, so I was up 'til at least 3. This time the topic of discussion was getting a monkey somehow and training it to smoke cigarettes. Then replace cigarettes with pot. Then make it play DDR (on ecstacy) and roller skate and shoot squirt guns. It was the funniest thing in the world ever. I swear.

I won't be soothed,
Nate