HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

11/05/2002 - 4:54 p.m. | pull the lever or whatever, right now, right now

Ugh - scheduling is annoying. It took me a long ass time, but I finally have everything all put together - as long as no one takes the very specific sections I need for all this to work. Of course, I know this will happen, and I'll have to redo everything, and boy, I'll be megapissy then, won't I? But, for the time being, I am the like the badass purple ant guru in Parappa. Shut up; I'm neat.

Next semester's schedule is certainly gonna be more time consuming (read: "harder") what with all those annoying discussion and lab sessions. Still, by the end of freshman year, I'll be done with all my gen eds and a good chunk of the way along in my advertising "requirements" (they only have suggestions because it is a fake major). I'll prolly even take a couple of courses at IVCC, but I don't think it'll be enough to bump me to junior status, which is what I'm sorta shooting for. Damn "electives" and stuff...

Today in my Sociology discussion, we were discussin' how to improve the school system. Like, there are probably some really smart kids in every school, but some of the schools are so lacking in funding, teachers, and supplies that the kids' can't do anything with their talent. So, I was thinking about IMSA, and how it almost seems like a solution, but I dunno - it seemed like there really weren't all that many lower class kids there. Maybe I just didn't notice, but almost everyone I can think of was middle-to-upper class, so their schools were at least adequate. So maybe poorer communities just don't have information about it, but then even if they did, they might not actually have been taught enough in their current schools to even be able to get into IMSA just 'cause of the way applicants are evaluated. So that sucks, too. Sociology is depressing.

On the plus side, I voted today! And people concerned about low voter turnout should definitely play up the free ("I VOTED") sticker angle. Seriously, though, who is that targeted for? "You voted! You're really an adult now! A functioning part of society! And here's a sticker for my little babykins!" Weird weird weird...

I won't be soothed,
Nate