HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

07/07/2005 - 2:46 p.m. | i twist like a corkscrew, the sweetness rising

Maybe I'm a little stressed right now, maybe because I just spent the last two hours on the phone with irate poor people, all of whom want the same thing, that is, to look for files I cannot find at all. Specifically those files I cannot find at all. I have thousands and thousands of files and a semi-coherent system to keep track of them (at least generally) but anyone who calls apparently sends out some sort of magic disintegration ray that dissolves those files forever. Files I have seen before are now gone! Files that should still be on my desk are not! Some troll is coming up there and hiding them, I just know it. And so, so many calls! I haven't even scratched the surface of the 30 (yes, I am being literal) voicemails I had when I checked today.

So yeah, I'm a little fried, but I shot off some bottle rockets, and I'm on my second bottle of "hard" iced tea, and I've realized the worst that could happen is I am fired. Or stabbed by an irate poor person. But seriously, that's the absolute worst.

On the plus side, it was only a dream! Vince Vaughn is still alive! In the back of my head yesterday, I was down all day, and I couldn't figure out why until I checked imdb that evening. The stories I had dreamt I had read there - about Vince Vaughn having a heart attack - were only dreams after all. I don't know why it would make me so sad that specifically Vince Vaughn was dead, but he's not, and that's very good news.

I won't be soothed,
Nate