HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

07/07/2005 - 12:32 p.m. | no time for a title too much work

So, since I�m stuck here at the Housing Authority of Champaign County for several mind-sucking hours everyday, I thought, �What would be the best way to pass the time?�

Coke.

Well, clearly! And while it would certainly give me that competitive edge I need in the fast-paced world of filing nonsense papers, I figured I should look for a more legal distraction first. Yesterday it was the Hitchhiker�s Guide to the Galaxy Text-Based Adventure Game (!!!), but mostly I found it frustrating, as I am either not smart or British enough to make my way through any of the puzzles:

order peanuts
I do not know what you mean by �order.�
get peanuts
I do not know what you mean by �get.�
hang self
Done and done!

Then I tried to figure out why copy machines have to be so big. Hours of research revealed the answer: Magic. I read about Wonder Woman for a while, but she is pretty fucking boring when it comes right down to it. So, today, I�ve decided to use my interludes between files (and there are many of them) to my full advantage.

Coke!

I mean � diary entries!! I�m backed up far as hell as it is, so I might as well alternate between work and work. At least one of them is enjoyable work. Anyway, I�m going to start with the holiday weekend and work from there, occasionally stopping to blow someone off who is yet again trying to reschedule their inspection. Here is a fun note from one of the inspectors:

�Young child went to get his mother, but �Mom says she�s not home.��

Yay!! I�m making a difference! Or, regarding water damage on some property:

�It appears that someone tried to spray paint over damaged areas. Even this attempt was poorly done, incomplete.�

LOL, good work, tenants! You are all the scum of the earth!

Kim, the lady who (apparently) did this job before me, gave me a little advice before she went, saying that I shouldn�t stop to answer the phone every time it rings because I will never get anything done. Now she never got anything done anyway, it seems, but I have gone one step further with her advice and will only use the telephone for a maximum of half an hour a day. And even then it is only to check my voicemail and compile a list of whiners I need to call back. Interesting, though, isn�t it, that the boy who once waited for everyone to call him , who feared making even the simplest call to a friend, will now only communicate with others he initiates the contact with. That�s emotional growth, right?

I won't be soothed,
Nate