HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

02/11/2005 - 1:55 p.m. | deal?

TODAY I HAVE ACHIEVED ABSOLUTELY NOUGHT
IN JUST BEING OUT OF THE HOUSE, I'VE LOST OUT
IF I WANTED TO END UP WITH MORE NOW
I SHOULD'VE JUST STAYED IN BED, LIKE I KNOW HOW

I guess the main problem was that I thought it was Wednesday until the day was nearly half over.

So I got up to cross the guard, made a mug of tea to bring to class (as it was bloody cold as hell outside), and tried to transport said mug with me to class. What an inopportune time to forget gloves. So I got to the building with no fingers (at least as far as I could feel), and I ran into the classroom, only a little late. Only, as soon as I got into the class, it didn't seem very familiar. For one thing, it wasn't my professor, replaced instead by a fat man in a jogging suit. Oh well, I thought. Might be a sub for the day. And the class did seem unusually full [of Asian people], but again, I was flustered. So I sat down on a desk to the side (and had it pointed out to me that said desk was on the verge of collapse) and at least planned on listening. Turns out this was actuarial science. Took me a moment to figure this out. I mean, I immediately could have told you this wasn't my major, what with the talk of Greek letters and loss models and intergals and whatnot, but it took a while to catch on that they were calculating how feasible some people were to insure. Fascinating stuff. I didn't want to leave the class, as I'd just caused such a commotion coming in, and I didn't think it was right to read in class, for everyone else was scrupiously taking notes. So I sat and listened. For 50 minutes. At the end of class, we were given a pop quiz. I was less distraught than the others. I wrote a little story on mine about how I ended up in the wrong class (at this point, I was still unaware it was Thursday, thinking maybe the class had changed locations without my knowledge) or how possibly I was in the Twilight Zone episode where everyone is the world is an actuary, in which case I would need to get out a noose, and they would need to calculate how worthwhile it would be to insure me then. It was also supposed to be a group quzz, so a kid turned to me and asked for my answers. "Trust me, man." I said. "You don't want what I'm peddlin'."

That done, I had about 2 hours until my next class. Having recently gained the feeling back in my digits, I wasn't about to lose it again and decided to hang out in the psych building for those 2 hours. Maybe take a nap, maybe read a bit. The only spot I could find a chair, however, was in the atrium of the building. While it is not as cold in there as outside, it is certainly not as warm in there as inside, so I left all my layers on (Cat hat included). The car I sat in was broken as fuck and not nearly big enough for a nap, but I folded myself into any number of illogical positions (One of them an upside down perch if memory can be believed). A little before my class started, I saw this girl or something, and it dawned on me this might not have been my day (literally). So, having pretty much shat all, I went to the one class I could make it to, and that was that. The rest of the day was spent making Kyle's "Robots vs. Pirates" t-shirt (which, admittedly, did turn out pretty sweet) and eating little Valentine boxes of Nerds that Shelly's mom had sent her.

I'll concur I'm a cretin if you concur you're ugly.

I won't be soothed,
Nate