HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

03/29/2004 - 2:16 a.m. | it would be rude not to

I don't actually have anything to talk about, so I'm going to just try and kind of spew forth until I feel I have done my adequate duty. I always at least have things in mind that I mean to do. Like, for a week, two, whatever, I have so been planning on doing some laundry. And it's not like it's some trek through the desert or some shit. Fall down ass backwards and there I am in the laundry room. And yet I abstain and start wearing stranger and stranger shirts that should not be seeing the light of day. Was gonna fix my bike up today, too, and work on my - er - moodlighting or whatever you'd want to call the pink Tropical Sno cups I wanted to make and install today. But it rained, and we played Nintendo for like 5 hours. Shelly beat "The Little Mermaid," I tried to regain my skill as the "Chip and Dale: Rescue Rangers" 15 minute master, and Spritz learned how to play terrible "Wizards and Warriors." THOU HATH FOUND GEMS! It's funny; when we were little kids, these games would have been like the hardest thing in the world for us to get through, and now it's this walk in the park. Is it because we or the games are getting older I wonder. We did take out the garbage today. The vermin will be most displeased.

In the back of my mind, I realize how late it is getting and how I actually do have to be up tomorrow at 7:30 again, and it is a really depressing thought. I seriously couldn't think of what else I did today. Beat this slightly bizarre Flash "Love Hina" RPG thing I found on Stile and would post except it is surrounded by ads featuring genitals and such, and I don't need you having a heart attack, right?

I was talking to this girl tonight about this guy she liked, but how she didn't think he liked her, even though he was throwing out an amazing number of signs, and I'm just amused. See, a guy is supposed to make a move based on these sorts of teensy little inconstant things - body language, eye contact, all that bullshit - and just throw himself out there and make an advance, but God forbid a girl ever do the same. When I suggested that she herself make a move, she said she was too shy. I told her to contemplate the fact that the guy himself might be shy, and she insinuated that he was a pussy then. Fucking double standard society. So, guys are supposed to pick up on girl's nonverbal cues and make a move, right? If they get shot down, they obviously won't care because they are less sensitive than females. So, pretty much any guy with feelings is screwed, is that the gist of things? I mean, I don't care anymore. Well, yeah. I probably do. But after so many years of struggle for gender equality, the basis for it all is the same shit. The guy is the big hunter, and the girl sits around and looks pretty. Might as well be cavemen dragging their mates by the hair and all that garbage. And you sure as hell can't make a stand against it because then you're just being a wuss and you're not obviously interested in girls. DOUBLE STANDARD DOUBLE STANDARD I HATE YOU I hope you all end up with shitheads. This is why misogny comes to pass.

I was telling Shelly this the other day. Well, today. Sometimes I think people just do the stuff they do in the springtime (e.g. barbeques, kite flying, rollerblading, tossing frisbees, whatever) not because they want to but because they feel like it's what they're supposed to be doing in the springtime. Like they have some social pressure to do what is required of them to look normal. And the more I think about it, the more I think it's like that in a lot more cases than just the seasons. And she says that maybe I'm just one of those people who pretend to not be trendy and say they do what they like when they like, but in actuality, she suggests that perhaps I am sort of anti-trendy because I look at what others are doing and try to do the exact opposite. I don't know if I can agree to that. It seems like I'm nearly always doing what I want. So who says everybody isn't then, right? Maybe I just can't understand the motivation of other people, so I just kind of stick on sterotype sitcom brains for all of them. "Well, it's spring! I need to get out the grill!" Not "Man, I've been waiting so long to get outside and cook something!" But do I have that little respect for people? Here's fearing.

Putting "The Champagne of Beers" actually right there on your product is along the same lines as yelling, "Please! Just make fun of me! Right now! All of you!" I really do not want to go see The Punisher when it comes out because I am uninterested in him as a "super" hero, but I am sort of curious about the infamous scene where he's applying the iron-on skulll logo for his shirt. Did he Photoshop it himself or rip it off from some goth poetry site? Only time will tell.

I won't be soothed,
Nate