HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

11/26/2003 - 10:53 p.m. | she gets the picture, takes pity on me

Even though today was probably my most overall productive day this week, there's no way I can make it sound like it. Up at 10, and then I worked on my advertisements until noon, showered, ate lunch, and finished them up (yay, something done!). Then I sang and capered about a little longer than one might consider healthy, at which point I left to meet my mom at work.

Apparently the LaSalle County Housing Authority knows of all my antics. They knew I had dyed my hair in a freakish manner, and they knew my Halloween exploits, and that's just a little bizarre... but what can one expect? We left, and the radio in the car is still insane and sporadic, which I couldn't tolerate at all, I don't think.

We drove to Deer Park and took a fairly long walk down to the falls and back around again. Good to get out and get some exercise, good to spend some time with Mom too, but I was sort of in a pensive mood all afternoon. I guess I didn't feel like I had anything to talk about. Anything important anyway. My mom kept asking what I was thinking about, and I really didn't have any answer. I know it's impossible for your mind to go just blank, but that's what I felt like. It was sort of muddy out, and maybe I got some looks for being there with my mom, but I'm glad I went. And not just because I managed to throw my penny up in the Magic Wishing Rock thing. And no, you can't know what I wished for.

After that, we went to visit my uncle and aunt for a bit. I always feel weird jumping in (ahem) "grown-up" conversation, so I mostly stay silent unless things are directed at me. My uncle was wearing long underwear; I clearly saw the outline of his testicles :( ("Welcome to our world," says Spritz). Then he repeated some joke some friend of his made about basketball and black people, and it just made me sad. From there, we visited my grandma and grandpa, and I have come to the conclusion that I will not be getting old. It is not worth it. Too many problems, too many pain, everything becomes too difficult. My grandpa acted like I'd never seen him before, practically screaming at my grandma about her wanting to put up Christmas decorations. Therefore, I stole three oatmeal cream pies instead of the usual one. Actually, his yelling sort of reminded me of Fred Sanford, so instead of getting upset, as a normal, emotional human being might do, I sang the theme song in my head. Oh - and I did not take off my maroon stocking cap (see, my mom told me to bring a hat, and I didn't know why, so I just grabbed the one I thought would be the warmest) because my freakish hair is one issue that did not need to be brought to light.

We called Dad, and he met us for dinner (that's three vehicles the three Walshes needed to converge - environmentally-friendly, aren't we? By the way, the deer whistles do nothing!!). The pizza was adequate; the green peppers tasted sort of pickled maybe. Anyway, we split up. I got groceries and looked for a movie but sort of came up short on the latter (I got Skittles, though!). Then I watched some VH1 thing about bad hair, the top 22 albums of all time (Alanis was #1!! Yay!), and The World is Not Enough (starring Denise Richards' Wet Boobies as a nuclear scientist or something).

Here's a winner - we just got an e-mail from the head of campus rec. Apparently, the new policy is that (and I quote here) "bar crawl = hazing" and that anyone who sends e-mails or posts notice of these haze-o-ramas will get in lots of trouble or whatever. Thank you. I wasn't entirely sure the world was mostly populated by morons yet, but you've won me over!

What I would like you to do (see, I would do it, but I live above some trolls) is to throw an 80's themed party where everyone dressed like morons and the music is crap and we all make lame attempts to use the lingo. Mostly this comes from a deep-rooted desire to dance to the 9 minute extended mix of "Tainted Love" (which I will never have a chance of in, these, our modern times), but I'm sure you will agree that I am right. I feel like the opportunity is just beyond my reach? Might as well jump.

OK, I've got a pretty lousy headache here, so I'm going to take some aspirin and release some endorphins, one way or another. Kissies.

I won't be soothed,
Nate