HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

11/24/2003 - 11:20 p.m. | they can't all be good entries

Oh my GAWD, the internet connection is balls here tonight. It won't even keep me connected long enough to sign onto AIM. So I'll just write this to let out a little steam. We wouldn't want another baby-killing rage, now would we?

My plan to use my oh-so reliable cell phone as an alarm failed miserably, but I suspect that may have been my plan the entire time. We are clever like that. I got up and ran to the shower. Then danced for like 15 minutes. No matter how serious I try to be, I am always two steps away from looking like a complete moron. Honestly, how could anyone be impressed? Y'all ready for this?

I guess winter is finally starting to come out and kick ass again, which is by all means very welcome in my book. A lot fewer of you morons outside is what I mean. And I don't think you can try and look nearly as sexy when you are wearing your fucking gortex parka of doom. Now, I must take leave and restart the computer again, so hold on.

OK, back. So, did I remember how to drive? Well enough. I need a bit longer of a journey and some non-Jason Mraz music to really get back into it, but Sheridan will have to do for today. It started to snow, and it made me really happy to be back in a cute little small town during the holidays (even though the punk kids will still come out at night and I am pretty curious what Champaign would be like during this time of the year, all deserted and pretty). The kind of place where you don't even have to turn your shitty ass truck off. Although the temptation remains. I even know where a nice bridge is; hell, I live down the road from it.

Anyway, I did the errand thing. Everyone kept unrecognizing me what with my retarded hair and all. It feels useful to be doing something, though, I guess. Hmmm - so it seems AIM makes the internet connection die here. Well, no more of that then! No - wait... scratch that. Everything kills the connection here. Rar.

I made a tentative list of everything I have left to do before the semester is over, and it's all fairly balanced. A paper and a final here, some homework and an exam there. But I guess the advertising people decided that since they had given us essentially no work all semester long, they would just cram it into the last two weeks of class. Six online quizzes, two final projects. Aieeee. So, figured I'd get my best foot forward and start on the quizzes at least. Impossible. When I do these things, I have like six browser windows open and I'm going from to quiz to lecture to Google to chatroom ("Please help, the class is useless, and I never go!"). As you may have noticed in my ranting throughout, opening AIM is a two hour process. So, after about 90 minutes of swearing and waiting and yes, more swearing, I gave up on the quizzes. Tomorrow I will be working on something more tangible, namely one of the promotional projects. I have to pick a product and come up with a print, TV, and miscellaneous ad for it. I'm thinking about picking something really generic sounding. Great Value Pasteurized Process Cheese Spread, for instance. So, for, uh, research, I'm thinking about making a trip to Wal-mart tomorrow. Eh - who am I kidding? I just like Wal-mart, and I bet some of you are similarly inclined as well. OK, restarting again.

Once I gave up on that, I decided to just relax (just what I need, right?), eat lunch, throw cards, and watch The Ring, which I had rented earlier today. Of course, any of you who know me know I end up doing nothing but watching the movie. It's a disease, I know. Yeah, heard it was the scariest movie of the year... psh. Dunno. Nothing scares me. OK, except social interaction. But not movies. Still, it was engrossing and filled with random images, which is the closest thing I have to being freaked out. And I realized at some point that the little girl in it does the voice of Lilo, so that might have killed the terror somewhat. Then I watched "Lilo & Stitch," and pretty much all hope was gone.

When Mom came home, I helped her with dinner. I would have liked to do this during the summer, but at that point, I was so exhausted that I hated pretty much everything involving movement. Finally, the Legrenzi genes have provided me with something good, cooking sense. Of course, I could better employ it if I had more self-confidence, but that's part of the Legrenzi genes too. But a little practice, and I think I could pull it off. Cooking, not confidence. You clods. Also, who wants a Lemon Drop when I get back? You do, trust me.

Ooh - almost made it all the way to webmail there! Too bad. Restart again.

We ate (parents once again giving me a pep talk about relationships... "There's someone for everyone!" And mine will be uggo!) and had a fire and then I ate some more. Stupid little tiny love handles. It's all downhill from here. As my parents had their WB dramas to attend to (hehe), I watched Jerry Maguire, which is little better, but it's the one movie in which I can stand Renee Zellwenger and Cuba Gooding, Jr., so hooray. OK, that's about it for this entry except I can't post it, so it doesn't really matter. Hateful, hateful world. Since no one will read this anyway, call me up and we'll talk for hours and hours. I'm sure. Meanwhile, the modem has decided that it no longer functions at 56k and has dropped its max to 16k. Please explain this to me.

I do have the tools at my disposal, and deep inside, I know this. But, I'm just not prepared to put them to use. I know I can... and yet I can't. HOW CONTRADICTORY.

I won't be soothed,
Nate