HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

11/16/2003 - 1:21 a.m. | have a safe time tonight if you are going on the "employee social"

Holy crap - I woke up at 2:30 today. But perhaps I should backup. And before that, I should check to see what I last wrote to you about. OK, Elf. Like everyone said, it was pretty good. I don't have too much to add. Zooey Deschanel is hot in an adorable, adorable sort of way. And I found it hilarious that it was written by a Jew. Anyway, I really wanted to steal this elaborate display for the new Harry Potter movie, but no one seemed to think it was impossible. I have to start hanging out with Disney characters.

Got home, started playing "Earthbound" on my emulator, and fell asleep very, very late (who can say when?) Thus, why I woke up at 2:30. Then I played "Earthbound" for another, like, four hours until I got sort of hungry. Spritz was sort of wishy washy about eating, though, so I showered instead... and somehow during the course of it sprayed water all over the freaking room. Maybe I blacked out? Afterwards, we went to Perkins, but we picked like the busiest time, so we were stucking singing "In Da Club" a cappella and trying to win ugly Three Stooges scarecrows from the claw machine (and not succeeding). Once seated, we ordered the same thing (honey mustard chicken crunch salad), which I usually try to avoid when I can help it. Not today, though. At the next table over, I saw this girl. I dunno - she wasn't really attractive, I'd say. She was actually pretty normal, if not bitchy looking. But man, I was so drawn to her. I don't understand. I was so attracted to her that I actually thought about going up to her and letting her now. Except when she smiled. Then I repulsed. I am a fickle man.

We were sort of running behind, so I had to leave for the concert shortly after we got back. I hung out with Justin and Lisa and company for a while. The first opening act, Roy G. Biv, was actually pretty good. They might be local, I'm not sure, but the music was catchy and the drummer/spokesman was very charming and made cute faces and the bassist danced around like an ass, and I really enjoyed it - enough to buy their CD. The second act, uh, sucked. Tim Kinsella maybe, was that it? They called themselves "Heartlight" or something awful. No, wait - "Make Believe." That's it. They were sooooo pretentious. The lead singer wore an army helmet and wouldn't speak out loud. He would whisper things to a volunteer (a beer slut, in this case) and she would say it to the crowd. And the music just reeked of effort to sound different. (Maybe I sort of liked their painful Buffalo Springfield cover of screaming nightmares - and have been searching for it ever since - but still!!) And they couldn't just see CDs; nooooo... they had to have 7" records. In between songs, the same beerslut volunteer would read little, I dunno, poems or shit about the band that they had written. I wish they'd called my ass up. I would have read something like, "It says, 'We are a band of pretentious shitheads, and it would not actually be a crime in this case if you lit us on fire. Plus, the hat does not work.'" So, so lame. Speaking of which, Paul Malina was there, and he kind of tagged along with us. I don't dislike him really, but we don't have much in common, so I kind of felt bad for the limbo position he was in. Meanwhile, we performed experiments with Binaca and fire. I sprayed a bunch of it on my hand and then Spritz ignited it. It hurt a bit, but looked cool (freaked people out) and burnt out quickly. Success. Then I tried igniting my tongue, which I guess looked badass, but may have had some negative effects on my complexion, as if you could notice them through all the others.

There were so many indie kids there. Bleh - it's just obnoxious. They all wore 70's clothes. "I hate mainstream products! So instead I go with 70's mainstream products!" And so many scarves. Is that the new thing? Although this one girl looked sort of cute. And she might have been giving me a look. But a) she might have had a boyfriend and b) I was dancing like an ass.

Man, Ted Leo was just great! I mean, I've seen a lot of really good concerts, but as far as flat out, fast entertainment goes, he might have been the tops! I swear I was like the only one in the audience who knew all his stuff (poseurs!), and I danced about with very few cares. I boogied down while lots of people just stood and looked pissy. I refuse to do that, and I don't care how stupidass I look. He played most of my favorite songs, and he was totally adorable, but I would've liked to have heard "I'ma Ghost" and "My Vien Illin" myself. No worries, though! It made me so happy!

Afterwards, Brytne, Spritz, and I went to a party at Niket's. Um, it was balls. Seriously, like the song says, all I want to do is dance. I hate talking to people, and that's all they did. And all the girls left really early, and it's not like I really want to get with the girls (lie?), but it seems I am not allowed to dance alone or with guys and keep up my facade of heterosexuality. Man, there was one super cute girl in a pink shirt (awww!) but she was with some guy with curly hair and who seriously likes curly hair? Also, best screwdrivers ever.

The walk/ride home was sort of slow going, and then we were going to head to a party on Elm, but Brytne dropped out (Kyle had gone home after the concert) and when Spritz and I went, it was all emo/indie kids. Arg. Hates them. So now, here I am, one short description later.

Now, listen. I try not to go into this stuff because I know you guys care little as it is, but I miss closeness. I would really like to kiss someone. A girl someone specifically. And I'm not whining because it is my own fault because I just cannot make the first move (and society dictates that I am supposed to do so) because it seems so, so rude in my mind, and I don't think any woman could ever be attracted to me ever (and I am not being paranoid here. It's just true. Yeah, one thing AlterNate does have me beat on is that he's hotter), and it seems most people have decided I'm already an asshole in the first place (which is probably true), but I still miss it, no? I wish I were hot and that someone liked me. Also, on an unrelated note, I would like to have a sleepover. Like a friendly one. Just sit and watch TV or movies and crash. Closeness not required. OK, enough whining. Promise.

I won't be soothed,
Nate