HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

10/29/2003 - 12:45 p.m. | reptile!!

Nothing like running a few errands! Man, the weather is just perfect out for riding a bike and clapping along to the Dismemberment Plan. That's right, I finally admit it: I like handclaps as percussion in songs. Heavy breathing, too (e.g. No Doubt's "Hella Good" and Maroon 5's "Harder to Breathe"). So sue me, all right? Apparently I now consider going to class running some sort of errand as well. This almost makes what I do seem so impressive. We talked about BASHO in JLit today, and Will was trying to give an example of the type of haiku BASHO writes without actually having read any more than the first page of it, and he dead on guessed a poem (about crossing a rough river). He didn't even realize; he just thought everyone was going along with his vague notion. So I've decided he's either psychic or the reincarnation of the old man... BASHO.

Afterwards, I ran around trying to give away my money, but no one seemed to want it. The Financial Aid didn't want it, Accounts Receivable didn't want it, the cashier didn't want it. Fine, I'll keep my damn money then! Anyway, I ended up in Henry somehow, and I walked in the way I used to go when I went to psych last year, and I got all nostalgic and was like, "Man, this is where Chris used to teach! I wonder if he still goes here!" And then I walked by, and he was teaching a psych class, and I practically melted. I have a little crush. I would've liked to have gone in and hugged him, but I doubt he remembers me because a) it was a year ago, b) what impression could I have made? and c) I'm sure no one could see through my elaborate emo disguise. Right. I also deposited some money and finally got the Ted Leo CD that they apparently had on hold for me for like two months now. They got it in the second day after I'd placed the hold, and I guess I just never got their call. Stupid stupid.

Anyway, today is progressing nicely. I got some things done, and I'm feeling a little better (although should I feel guilty about that? exercise really does help, though... endorphins and all), and I would just like to do nice things for people. If they'd trust me.

"I'm going to buy you a gun / I'm going to bring a video camera."

By the way, it's a good thing I decided not to be Master Shake or anybody for Halloween because Andy and Shanks completely owned anything I could ever do. Ask for pictures!

I won't be soothed,
Nate