HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

06/25/2003 - 10:39 p.m. | drip drop a lovely dream

Man, I just had the best nectarine. Should you stop by sometime (and you should definitely be stopping by), ask for one.

Hours: 7.5 (7-2:30, without lunch)
$$$: $85.86
CDs:
-"Being There" (disc one) - Wilco
-"Icky Mettle" - Archers of Loaf
-"Welcome Interstate Managers" - Fountains of Wayne
-"Lost and Gone Forever" - Guster
-"13" - Blur

So, it was supposed to be really hot today, but I'm quite prepared to wear shitty cutoffs to work yet (gotta quelch that last chunk of dignity, eh?). Instead, I decided to make today "FACTORY BEACH PARTY 2003!!" Woooooooo. This consisted of wearing flip-flops (which got me almost immediately yelled at, except Snake King called them "open-toed shoes." $100 if he had actually said flip-flops), setting up little paper umbrellas on the welder, drinking iced tea, and dumping this sand junk they use to clean up oil around a bit. Oh - and I listened to music again. It was pretty lame, true enough, but a lame idea still passes time, and that's all I've got.

I know I've complained about this before, but it bugs the hell out of me sometimes how useless everyone at that place is besides me. Doughboy is slow as shit (you can see him physically processing each thought), and Travo has ADD or something because he's always on the phone or checking out his wicked goatee in the mirror. And then Snake King comes along and starts talking to them about his elaborate plans of what work needs to get done except then no one works while they're talking (besides me, but I could hardly call the grunts I make talking), so it's just time down the shitter! RAR - it makes me so mad. They need 4 of me - or 2 of my dad. That's is. They'd be rolling in tomato pens then. But, I remind myself, I hate that place. Let it go under.

Snake King continues his disconcerting habit of not telling me what he's doing. He sneaks up (slithers??) and just starts bending panels for me; OK, that's fine. I personally don't like that, but I can see how it is necessary (since the welder is just a bit too fast). But then he runs off for a bit to do whatever, and I start bending again, and he comes back all impatient like, "The fuck you doin', boy!" Just leave me alone. Do you know why I get so much done? Because I don't fuck around with you people.

After work, I was craving a milkshake, so I went to McDonald's. Turns out chicken samiches are only a buck right now, so miserly nature beat out "I fucking hate McDonald's" nature, and I got one. I kept thinking I got scraps of the receipt in my mouth. No, it was the bun. >:O

As I mentioned, the lack of sleep is catching up with me, so I resorted to a nap today. Stupid naps. But it was in the sun by my window, and I daydreamed about, well, whatever, so I guess it could be worse. I woke up completely groggy, though, and had to get my act together for school pretty fast. Dad let me use their car again :D so the drive was filled with more singing and less swearing at a cruel god for allowing such horrid music to be played on the radio.

When we actually do a little application with the old econ, I find it sort of interesting. Supply and demand graphs, elasticity. I like that stuff; it's being applied, makes me think a bit. But for the other 2.5 hours, man. Useless. During the break, I got a Dr. Pepper (my first in a long, long time) and sat in the car because it was raining. I really like "Wrong" by Archers of Loaf. Yeah. Wrote another letter to Nessers, did my homework in advance again, and decided two people in the class aren't complete mutants. One looks familiar; she might have been in one of my classes at UIUC, but yeah - I'm not good with faces or names. Only stupid, stupid movie information.

By the time class ended, it was raining really hard. I hadn't eaten, so I decided to just hit Wendy's or something. Then I made a last-minute decision to go to Ottawa for Tropical Sno instead. The drive was pretty scary. 80 is down to one lane, so it was all barrels and barriers, and I was stuck behind a truck spraying mist at me. And then Tropical Sno was closed (apparently they have rain delays - lazy communists). Angry, I decided that what I really needed was some fucking hand soap. Good smelling hand soap. :| See, 'cause my hands sorta smelled weird during class (like spices or something) and then I washed them, and they smelled like school soap, and I'd much rather them smell nice. So, went to Wal-mart and spent 20 minutes smelling soaps; I was pretty disappointed with their selection, but I got tropical something or other. I'll be on the lookout from now on, though. To cheer myself up, I wasted $15 on the collector's edition DVD of From Dusk 'till Dawn. It will be worth it to see the imperfections on Quentin Tarantino's face in minute detail. Came home, ate best nectarine. OK, done.

"It went down at the May parade, bitter words under my breath. There is something I've been dyin' to do, I was meaning to tell you."

I won't be soothed,
Nate