HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

04/01/2003 - 1:15 p.m. | will you sober up and let me down?

Hiya - I've gotta apologize for last night's entry. I don't know what it meant either. Sometimes I get a little too stream-of-consciouness-y (fuck me, I'm Virginia Woolf!), but at least I wasn't on opium.

I don't think I could ever be a writer writer. I'm proficient, I guess, but I don't have the empathy to create any characters besides myself. As some can attest to. Still, better than the shitty short story Justin made me read today by some dude in his class. It was really, really rudimentary. Simple morals, simple characters, and a structure that reminded me of erotica (so I wasn't surprised when the guy and the girl actually ended up together completely randomly). But I feel bad for him. I mean, I know I couldn't make it, and I'm a lot better than him... :(

I am a convergence of green today. Shoes, happy picnic shirt, IMPE shirt under that, boxers, watch, skin tone. Happy St. Patrick's Day! APRIL FOOLS >:O KC said it was Tornado Day, though, and I have no idea what that means. I hope she doesn't turn a prophet.

That was a pun.

These last two days I feel like I've been going through the motions, school-wise. This is not to say that I'm not trying, but I just keep getting this foreign sensation. I go to my classes and take notes and watch "The Price is Right," and I get on the quad bus, and it feels so strange. Like, "This is familiar?" Oh yeah - new White Stripes album. And any work I have (which is more of a minority, I think) just seems like a little hassle in the way of my true affairs, namely sleeping and mind wandering. Like I'm playing a role in a dream, I guess. I feel like I'll jump forward in a bit and things will change.

I have an entomology test to study for today and a math assignment to do, although - hold on - OK, damn. This morning when I went to the website to to write down the assignment, it wasn't working, so I was kind of praying for more downtime (I was vaguely pissy that I couldn't just get it done at Kenney) My "boss," I guess, at Kenney is funny... she kept lifting her shirt in front of the fan to cool off her tummy, and she really hates Rush Limbaugh. Oh, and big news: minimum wage might be going up by 2004: $6.50 / hr! Yeah, yeah! Well, I'm pleased anyway.

On 665 today (#557), JSP proposed. I guess that might be construed as nerdy, but it made me really happy. Good luck, man!

I guess I should get to work on that math, but I'm sort of mellow right now, and I don't really feel like introducing stress and depression. Stupid math.

I won't be soothed,
Nate