HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

12/29/2002 - 1:31 p.m. | last nite

Mmmm... Lemon Zinger tea is excellent!! Why yes, I am lame!

Most of the evening last night was pretty boring. The highlight was going to the Petersburg Diary Queen. I had a Star Kiss or some shit (lemon-lime, rather mediocre) and then did the crossword puzzle in the used car shopping guide in record time (3 across: Exclamation, 3 letters - "OY!"). Then we started to watch Ducky's tape of IMSA graduation - God, Becca Liu's math speech was wretched! - until Ducky and Bill's friend Weaver (sort of loud and obnoxious, but in a cute, funny way - AND he calls everyone "douche!") came over with some slightly-bitchy chick, Hannah (fuck your palindrome!) They wanted to go someone (well, mostly Hannah - she seemed rather whiny to me), so Weave (nicknames = cool... also parenthesis) called their other friend Kyle, and we were soon on our way. Except Bill was being sort of a dick and wouldn't make room in the backseat of Hannah's car for Ducky or me, so the two of us had to take Ducky's SUV instead. Hehe - Ducky was pissy; he hates when Bill gets in his dickish moods. So, we got there and met Kyle (emo-boy and proud of it: writes his own songs, depressed, etc. - except for all the Eminem CDs!), who sort of reminded me of either Matt Maly or Jason Kahn or somewhere between, not that I know which one is which extreme or even if one is. Nevermind nevermind nevermind...

Now, to be honest, I wasn't really looking forward to going to a party because I am not that type of person. I'm more of the "hermit" type of person. So I was pleased when no parties could be found. I was less pleased when everyone decided to drink anyway. Actually, Ducky wasn't going to at first so that he could drive, but that seems wasteful, so I volunteered to do it instead. heh - after all those years of anti-drug propoganda, I assumed real people would try to force me to use various... whatevers... as much as the kids in the videos. But, realistically, it makes sense that they wouldn't hassle me. More for them! (well, it might have pissed off Hannah, but that might be here normal mode... I was under the impression that she didn't like me, though).

So, yeah - let the drinking games begin! I find the concept behind them funny: you try to do well at the games so you don't have to drink when the whole point is to get drunk. I guess it's the difference between social drinking and sad, sad alone drinking. They were still fun to watch, though! They just got louder and more rambunctious, except for Ducky, who is no longer affected by your earth alcohol. On a positive note, as they got less inhibited, so could I, make for a more comfortable environment overall. Hannah left eventually (with several wine coolers in her, which everyone agreed wasn't wise) and things sort of cooled down. BIll and Weaver made a pizza and brought down a shitty box of wine, which I thought was hilarious, and no one really seemed to want. They tried to invent a new drinking game (with me involved this time drinking cans of Diet Mountain Dew - I dare anyone to say that alcohol tastes worse than Diet Mountain Dew!), but their minds were exactly razor sharp, so we all just went upstairs to watch Bill make pizza (is he never not hungry?) and lift sugar cookies covertly. We left at around 2 or so (with an added detour because Bill forgot his camera).

Hehe - I can see why some people like driving SUVs. Despite anything I've ever said about them, when you sit behind the wheel, you feel like you're controlling a tank. Gives you quite a masculinity boost, I'm sure, but I quickly cancelled that out with some Fiona Apple and Avril Lavigne!

PAUSE - BILL IS EATING A BIG BOWL OF BEANIE WEENIES! HE WOKE UP LESS THAN 15 MINUTES AGO! - END PAUSE

Anyway, driving was pretty fun! No traffic, clear roads, nice weather, everyone pleasant but not too obnoxious (although Weaver's talk of "sideways vaginers" might have been a little much) I dunno how well I handled the beast, but we didn't flip over, and I was pretty damn surprised! It's an SUV, for God's sake!

Got back around 2:30, and Bill crashed almost immediately. Ducky and I stayed up for a while longer, cooking FOUR MEAT pizza and making fun of shitty cars in yet another used car shopping guide. I so want an '81 Volkswagon Fox. Please provide!

I feel like Jared!

Went to bed at around 3:30, and then woke up today at around 11:30, due to the numerous Newtons pounding around upstairs (family function, as I believe I mentioned, although it certainly sounded like more than there actually were). They're all pretty cute, but they'll be gone soon, leaving Bill and and me several hours to wait until Will gets here. Yes, then the tides shall turn.

Honestly, I don't think I have anything else to write about. I might be wrong, though.

I won't be soothed,
Nate