HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

12/10/2002 - 5:15 p.m. | re: previous entry (death race 2002)

So, last night for Eat Out Night, Kyle, Spritz, Steve, Will, Lis, and I went to La Bamba for their head-sized burriots (Added side notes: their webpage is as big as your browser! Also, at my request, Will used the generic micro R/C car he got for "free" to play Frogger across Lincoln. It got smashed, but it made a valiant effort!). The food was very good, but someone (Kyle, I think) had the bright idea that we should a have a footrace from there back to Europa. We'd each put in 5 bucks, and the winner would keep all of it. Being guys (idiots), we agreed.

So, let's see... Steve took off for an early lead at first, but I managed to pass him, and Kyle managed to pass me right after. Will was ambling along behind us. We reached the quad and took different directions. Steve, Kyle, and I all felt like we were gonna puke. Steve slowed down, I slowed down, Kyle screamed and puked. Will ambled along. Kyle continued running, Steve figured he'd lost and slowed down, I did the same. Will ambled through Krannert. I ran into Steve on Oregon and Goodwin (actually, I ran by him, just to freak him out), but we both assumed we were long out (although not as bad as well). Still, just in case we weren't, we jogged across Lincoln. I tripped and scraped up my hands. Smart. We saw a series of figures approaching Europa. We finally decided to make one last ditch effort. Too late. Will was already there. He'd passed Kyle doubled over the corner of Lincoln and Oregon. If Steve or I had decided to run more, we prolly could've caught up. But Will was our king.

There you have it, kids. The tortoise was a genius. Steve and Kyle threw up some more, I felt sort of icky for a few minutes, Will won $15. We'll try again in one year. Or so the theory goes...

I won't be soothed,
Nate