HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

02/21/2006 - 11:13 a.m. | the first of many consequences

"Good Morning Tenants of 503 W. Green,
I just a call from the Environmental Control person for the City of Urbana. He said someone has played a joke or something on someone in the parking lot at 503 W. Green and placed, in his words, about a thousand neon post it notes on someone's car. He told me if they are all not picked up this morning he is going to fine me $250 for public nuisance. (I did not realize they can do this on private property, but it is the city of Urbana we're talking about). Whomever owns this car needs to go outside right now and clean up this mess. He wants it gone before 12:00 noon. He specifically said they have to all be picked up off of the ground and surrounding fence areas.
In my experience with this guy he is not kidding around, he will drive by at noon and write it up if the work is not done, he has the car's information recorded already, then he will send a certified letter with the public nuisance fine enclosed. If I get fined I will expect the owner of the car to pay for it, but hopefully this mess will be cleaned up this morning and the incident will be over.
Thanks,
Sheri"

Thankfully, Andy came over promptly to clean up the sticker labels. Will he be there when the police are bashing my skull into a curb someday? Is being an eyesore a crime?

I won't be soothed,
Nate