HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

12/08/2005 - 3:27 a.m. | all your money cannot cure the gonorrhea

The one benefit to completely fucking my sleep cycle (bedtime is still like 2 hours away, even if I wanted to crash now) is that I can apparently get some shit done if I so choose. I so chose, and now I have this little bit of downtime.

I am going to get fucked. up. this weekend.

Evidently, this is what the typical college students blabs on and on about in away messages: Hell Week. Oh, is it? Well, come to think of it, it probably is, but I am so blissfully ignorant that I have no time to ponder the hellishness. I think most people's problem is that they make a list of all the shit they have to do before they are done, it looks like a lot, and then get freaked out and agitated. It is much easy to stumble by blind luck onto various things. "Oh, a takehome exam due tomorrow? Guess I should print out a copy, huh?" "Final this afternoon? Better go to the library then." Oh, I am just destined for success. Speaking of which, the shit has rightly hit the fan in my classic campaigns class. It will be a miracle if I come out with a passing grade, but you know me. I've found Jesus. Lord, when did I become so indifferent? I'm been off the meds now for some time and besides the gradual creeping in of those stupid little worries I hate so much (like, was transcribing tonight and did not want to leave the office until the people standing in the hall had left), my, uh, bad attitude remains relatively unchanged.

antihero. n. a protagonist or notable figure who is conspicuously lacking in heroic qualities

That just sounds badass. Why would anyone strive to be a hero? One, you have to find a list of those damn qualities. Two, you have to do some stuff. The alternate option seems much easier.

Anyway, things are OK, if a little busy. I pried the Gateway logo off some computer and ripped off letters until it said "Gay 2000." That was a lark. Also locked myself out of Greg Hall with the keys to the lab still in my pocket, leading to a pretty surreal 6:30 am bike ride in my jammies. Mission accomplished.

Went to talk to Sheldon today about my portfolio project. He started off by saying that I remind him of him. He didn't necessarily mean it as a compliment (So many ideas that it's hard to stop and nail one down), but I was flattered nonetheless. We also talked about zombie movies (speaking of which, I do not recommend the recent Undead - I know, the idea of Australian zombies seems unfuckuppable, but never underestime the power of human failure... Kyle and Shelly both seemed so shocked at how ugly all the people were... You've got to think, though, this is a society founded on England's rejects... England!) and creepy statues. I hope to God I make it into the next class.

It was fairly nice out when I left this afternoon to run my errands. By the time I was done at 7 or so, though, the temperature had dropped to the subarctic, and I sure as fuck didn't have any gloves or a hat on. I swear I was about seconds away from slipping into a coma and falling over I was so cold. I felt myself weaving.

I got my car out of its snow drift for the first time today. What with my ice scraper missing, I had to get the junk off my windshield with a rogue can of Jewel beef ravioli. That made laugh, even as my fingers turned black.

If I ever have to see Wicker Park again, I will fucking stab everyone in the room. I am actually staring at the list of thew 129 people on facebook who took the time - this was a conscious decision here - to add that piece of hell to their favorite movies list. Plot twists and clever camera tricks for their own sake does not make a good movie. Also, Josh Hartnett is the second generation Keanu Reeves.

God damn Yousaf. Yesterday was an all day attempt to try and get some damn data off my hard drive. Not even get the computer working - just pull some ads and a song or two off the old girl. Unfortunately, the hard drive stupid Yousaf convinced me to buy is so GD advanced that even now, two years later, it's only compatable with a handful of things. Kyle and Spritz's computers won't take it, neither hard drive enclosure they had at Best Buy would take it (lovely three trips there and back, by the way), pretty much the only place it would work would be Jevon's computer, no doubt because he was advised by Yousaf to get the same damn thing. So I was yelling at him for a while, and he was like, "It's the present and future standard." I do not think he knows what the word "standard" means, and it's also been two years now. When is this future coming anyway?

If I just lurk around enough, I tend to get free food. It's a pretty glorious deal being pitiable.

I'm going to have a novel to write by the time I can finally sit down to it and get to work. Which won't leave time for the, uh, novel.

I won't be soothed,
Nate