HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

08/25/2005 - 5:34 p.m. | a person comes along and just hits a couple of buttons and reaps all the benefit

First day of class yesterday, and if it was any indication, it's gonna be a hellish semester. Of course, I brought a lot of it on myself (as I always do). I could've woken up at 7 as intended, worked three hours before class, and proceeded from there. Well, fuck that. I need to ease into this agony. It was, however, rather stupid to go for an extra-long run the day previous, considering all the biking in the sun I had to do. Rode to class (Dry ADV 483), rode to housing authority, rode to class (ADV 452, my special class), rode to housing authority, rode home, called Kyle, learned they were eating, and considered riding back to where they were. I walked, though, as all the bumps were jarring my noggin. Still, though. Miles and miles and miles.

Oh - and both my tires were flat for the majority of these journeys. I shall be buff soon enough, right?

My creative class seems like it will be entertaining, but the way everyone talks it's going to be hard as balls, and I can't quite wrap my brain around that. An advertising class? Hard?! Prof. Sheldon (luxurious locks in tow) read letters from past students, who mostly told us how difficult things were going to be. No matter how good you think you are, you will fail time and again. Even if you made it into the class, it doesn't mean you were the best; you just had the best potential. Everything you produced before this point is going to seem like shit to you after. Cheery stuff. The best advice came from one guy who insisted a 40 of malt liquor was the best solution to a creative dry spell. Sheldon himself suggested we all go on a bar crawl as soon as possible, the better to get to know each other. Honesty and criticism is such a big part of the class, I guess, that we need to get tight as soon as we can. To that end, we played an introduction game, although quite a bit more entertaining than those I've had in the past. We all had to reveal a guilty pleasure, and we would vote on the best (worst?), the winner receiving a handful of pocket change and a Twinkie. I chose my Avril poster collection and made it into the top three. Yes!

I thought it was going to be an even longer day, but luckily I didn't have to work that night. New people are working at Insomnia now (or rather, old people who weren't here for the summer). The one chick is pretty cute, and with my newly-arrived bottle of spray pheromones, I am a fucking shoe-in! The label reads:

Molecular Captivation
Pheromones for men
Use to attract women
Directions:
1. Apply generously before interacting with women
2. Be confident
3. Enjoy the results!

Step 2 makes me think it's a big old bottle of placebo, which is of course what I wanted anyway.

I was exhausted as shit - or at least that's what I told Missy - but I needed some good times to cheer me up. As such, Kyle and I stayed up late playing the Lego Star Wars game on our new PS2. The game is so frickin' cute, you can't even believe it. Silly little Lego people with lightsabers in their C hands and everything explodes apart into pieces when you destroy it. Plus, we saved up all of our in-game Lego money and purchased mustaches for one and all!

It's just that I never want to go to sleep now, because it means a new day will be following shortly thereafter.

I won't be soothed,
Nate