HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

05/03/2005 - 4:22 p.m. | what's the upshot?

The game gets more complicated every minute.

See, it turns out that during finals week, to prevent cheapskates like me from using their books in a quick one shot, all the bookstores prohibit refunds for the last two weeks of class. But, as a cheapskate who has been doing this all semester, I am not about to fucking pay full price (minus shitty sellback value) for a book I will use for one whole damn day. Luckily, Follet is just slightly more lenient and has allowed me the use of some of their books until tomorrow. I have two of five finals tomorrow.

Unfortunately, the plot thickens in that my credit card minimum payment (plus some) has not exactly gone through (I will have to talk to them about that), so I had to use my check card instead. This means that instead of me using virtual money to fund my little forays into the most expensive library system in the world, I had to use the real deal, requiring me to also a) pray there was a crossing guard check for me and b) deposit that check in time. All that said and done, and now I just have to cram these 2 books in in about 24 hours. The other three finals? We'll burn that bridge when we get there. I'm going to run and get a pill now.

I would really prefer to not have to take a day off and lose an easy $30, but I see no other way if I am going to get through this alive.

I miss simpler times (e.g. earlier today) when Kyle and I were eating some McFish because fucking Long John Silvers was and is "temporarily closed."

I won't be soothed,
Nate