HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

12/04/2004 - 2:54 p.m. | aach aach

All right, there's still time. I can do some writing. I'm trying to find jobs - Shelly's gotten me a couple of sweet hookups at Beckman (and I made idle conversation with her boss about his cup from The Igloo because I am such a relatable-to young youth) and I applied for that city job I am so unqualified for and I e-mailed some people about some ad work, but now I'm a little downtrodden because my TV ad yesterday was not quite as good as I thought. I mean, it was still good (obviously), but there were some genuinely clever ideas people thought of (One of which I had and could have executed better had I more time and not a stupid partner). We were doing ads for the Segway thing, and two really good pop culture references were made, one with Batman and one with Frogger. Oh well, let us hope it will only inspire me to greater greatness and spiraling into depression.

I'm also a very short-sighted good deal less worried, seeing as how yesterday I picked up three crossing guard checks from the police station. When combined with my last candy store pay, that's over a $500 deposit. And suddenly everything seems bright and rosy again! Nevermind that that has to last until God knows when! I'm going home in a couple weeks anyway. Nate Walsh feels set. Nate Walsh hates seeing the forest for the trees. He is too hungry for that sort of thought.

The day was spent as chauffeur, meaning I showed those goons what things were fer. Uh. You'd like examples? Well, I have none! I took Shelly and her goony science nerd friends to my old crossing guard school (tear), and I took Shanks to the store to get some cheap vodka and a Brita water filter because it has been purported that you can take shit vodka and filter it a few times to turn it into good vodka, which begs the question, "Why would they add that stuff in the first place?" It is the slowest process known to man, however ("Slower than erosion?!" Why, yes, Jimmy! Slower even than the wear and tear of our good planet Earth), so he wants to build some sort of pump. I think this is all a very good idea, but it remains to be seen if the filtration process will actually lead to any positive results. Even if you filtered out a dead rat's worth of disease and asschunks, there is still the inherent problem that you are drinking Alcohol, Poison of Man, and as such, it tastes like Cerberus' asshole.

More later.

I won't be soothed,
Nate