HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

07/04/2004 - 9:42 p.m. | why i skipped the 4th of july

Well, Independence Day, I mean. Honestly, there wasn't anything to make this day special, really. No parades or picnics or visitors or anything. I got up and went to work, and that was pretty boring, but Toy was high, and he kept making me giggle about stupid shit. He mostly talked about how lame his day was going to be since he can't go up to Chicago because he is on house arrest or something(???). He also kept telling me that all these "white bitches" wanted me because they kept coming into the store and hanging around without buying anything, and I wanted to explain that I did not think that he knew what white girls are attracted to, just like why I don't know why black guys like big asses and thighs, but I prefer to keep things amacable. Which is also why I didn't say he had a huge advantage when we played this game of stuffed animal basketball to see who would have to do which closing chores (I lost 2 of 3).

And then I left, and it was nearly night, and I hadn't done a damn thing, and I didn't really want to see any fireworks because, sadly, they've completely lost their charm. I get bored so easily. And I especially didn't want to go see fireworks when everyone else around was in a couple (which would be the case) because I am apparently absolutely sickened by any public displays of affection ("public" meaning "in front of me at all"). Who knew? And I am perfectly aware that there are social obligations that one is expected to fulfill, like going to stupid things you don't want to do on holidays and acting like you're having fun when you're not, but I'm still a teenager for a few more months, and I'm going to milk the moodiness for all it's worth. Longer if I can get away with it. Like Kyle kept saying, "It's Independence Day, not Codependence Day." Which is actually sort of obnoxious, but then he can't really argue with it, can he? I'm a grump.

I won't be soothed,
Nate