HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

02/05/2004 - 1:27 a.m. | but you're terrified and it's tearin' me apart, no...

So, we'll just work around it, right? My job is important to me, of course, but there's no way I could maintain sensible hours for long. So I'll cope. And incidentally, I shall do my best to combat the misogyny or whatever makes me so damn fucking angry all the time.

It takes me almost precisely an hour from the time I wake up until I am back in bed again. This is not a terrible trend at all. I have a coworker in the morning who is very Minnesotan or something. Maybe she's faking her accent, too. Apparently, it's too damn "cold" for most kids to walk to school, so all in all, I helped like five people cross today. So in some respects this is a very good time to start. It's cold, I guess, but certainly not unbearable, especially later in the afternoon. Layers are key, even if they do make me smell. And as far as I can tell, they round up my hours substantially. And I don't really worry because I won't be letting anyone down. The very worst thing that could happen is me getting hit by a car, and as long as it's not a little kid, that's acceptable.

The phonetics teacher is so cute and happy and nice. He really seems to enjoy what he does. And his pedometer occasionally yells out how much he's been waking, and he says nothing about it. Unfortunately, I will not often be speaking in his class because he is an expert on dialects, and he would immediately see through my sham, which Kyle has extended for an additional three days, by the way. I looked over at the girl next to me, and unless I'm mistaken, she was staring very longingly at a KAM'S ad. I've got to get my head on straight; I'm not even sure what I want out of life right now.

I got sucked up in UO and "American Idol" for a few hours. I bought my own little house today, and as soon as I opened the door, a bear wandered in. I shall take this as a good sign. I watched half of an episode of "Angel;" I really think I've been missing out. And it turns out the adorable Irish guy Glenn Quinn who played Doyle on "Angel" (and was also Becky's husband Mark on "Roseanne" and of course Becky - Sarah Chalke - is now Elliot on "Scrubs") died of an overdose in 2002. Fucking hell. And speaking of heroin, we watched Trainspotting tonight, which is about Scottish people on heroin, and Sick Boy (Jonny Lee Miller) was "Crash" in Hackers and the cute British guy in Dracula 2000, and the connections my brain makes are just sick, sick, sick. I also did some playing at Late Nite, but we shouldn't speak of that. Circumstancial evidence. Maybe I will have more to write in the future? Maybe not.

I won't be soothed,
Nate