HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

09/11/2003 - 2:46 p.m. | i'll just become a hermit, all right?

Seriously, it's a good thing I became punk rawk, or I wouldn't be able to handle the hand that fate is dealing me right now. OK, so ignoring the fact that all my classes are just so boring and mediocre, and I'm not learning a damn thing, and it often feels like it's not worth the energy to go most of the time, there is also the fact that through a complicated combination of events, my bike is now permanently locked in front of the Illini Union Bookstore. Yes. So, it begins with my econ book. I have the wrong one, right, so I ride to T.I.S. to take back the wrong ones (+$11!!) and buy the new one (-$85!!). I park my bike in front of the store, and I guess I've been having a little trouble with my lock lately, but today it was ridiculous. I have one of those U-shaped dealies (a generic one, of course, because that's how I operate), but only one prong of the U is locked. The other one dangles around, and I can neither lock it in or unlock the other one. Fine, whatever. Go in, sell books, look for new one, they don't have it. Head back outside to go to the other bookstore. I yank on my lock and it falls apart. Fine, it's permanently unlocked. What did I expect from a $5 lock? So, I ride to the IUB, park my bike again, and then, to at least create the illusion that I have bike security, I slip the lock parts together. Go in, buy my book, come back out. Lock has now decided that it is permanently locked. The key fits, but it won't turn. Farts. So much for that bike. We're going on a rescue mission tonight, but if oiling it doesn't work, I think the police will be a little suspicious about the bolt cutters or hacksaw or whatever.

MEANWHILE - here's another kick in the face from karma - Nessers has gone apeshit, and it's in my general direction. I hadn't even figured she'd notice I've been gone. Apparently, I was wrong. So, I'm very sorry about that, but it wasn't intentional. I'm just sort of cut off from the world right now, but that will be fixed, and then I'll just have oodles of time. Also, I said something offensive apparently, but I so don't know what, so I'm just failing miserably here. I feel like a typical sitcom guy or something.

UNLESS it was about redheads. That's all I can think of. And seriously, I meant real redheads. The gross orange ones. And I don't care how many of you freaks I do piss off. hahahahaha Anyway, I don't know why it would be that really because I remember specifically saying that she looked cute with red hair, and no that wasn't meant as a backwards insult, you fucking monsters, because it wasn't the orange kind. It was the bloody red kind, like mine, OK?! The color suits her, just like it possibly might suit me (minus eyebrows, talk to Spritz). Seriously, I should never talk again, except this has been the most excitement I've had for a while, and it's at least interesting to try and explain myself and not come off as an asshole. Which I probably am anyway.

Dig the hole much deeper, Nate.

On the plus side, I weasled myself out of a potential job at Office Depot (20 hours a week at IMPE and shit is enough for me) and weasled my way into another appointment because I forgot I had to listen to NPR this morning. I hope this all makes sense to you. OK, to do: Shower, do econ, try to rescue bike, watch news, do journalism. Ready? Break.

I won't be soothed,
Nate