HAPPLES!?
annals | guests | diaryland

06/21/2003 - 1:43 a.m. | i want to surprise myseee-eeelf

I�ve been sort of� high-strung today. More so than usual, I mean. Like, everything is seconds away from ticking me off. But only like hilarious ticked off, not full-on hatred. See? It�s hard to describe. Mostly I just bitch more :D POWDER KEG. And I have to get up tomorrow at 6 to work, followed by heading to Dank�s. It literally and figuratively is the longest day of the year. Better write a verbose entry then!

Hours: 7 (10-5)
$$$: $70.something
CDs:
-�Have You Fed the Fish?� � Badly Drawn Boy
-�Kid A� � Radiohead
-�Maladroit� � Weezer
-�Britney� � Britney Spears
-�In the Aeroplane Over the Sea� � Neutral Milk Hotel
-�Too Far to Care� � Old 97�s

Woke up this morning a wreck, pissed off already. I won�t go into details, but I just feel lacking is all. Considering my super great mood, it took me a while to get out of bed (from 8 to 8:50, roughly), but I gathered my resources and got the job done. That�s just how I operate. Showered, packed lunch, usual bullshit, and got on the road. Seriously, both the drive to and from work were the worst for radio I�ve ever heard! There was not one single song I liked in the least, even ironically. �Coming up � Janet Jackson followed by Creed!!� Eventually I stopped trying to find a station and just started yelling, �FUCK YOU FUCK YOU FUCK YOU� over and over again. But I digress. Man, I�m hungry. I digressed again.

Work was pretty standard. Wind in the morning, weld in the afternoon. When I�m in a pissed off sort of mood, I work faster, though. Not necessarily better. But faster. Example: Some of my tomato pens don�t close as well as I�d like them to. Rather than readjusting the winded parts, I just throw the sucker on the floor, check to see that no one is looking, and stomp the fuck out of it until it�s flatter. Time saving! Poor consumers. Morning was pretty uneventful, I guess. The two old farts who wind and weld left for the summer. �See you in October,� one of them grunted. I think I�m tearing up.

Actually, the afternoon was pretty uneventful too. Although, for some reason, I got really, really angry when Snake King started bending panels I had made while I was still welding. What the hell, man? That�s tantamount to an insult, buddy! �Oh, he�s not fast enough to weld and bend! I�ll help him out!� No one gets that; not even the cretins who welded half as fast as me. So I made it a point to work extra, extra super crazy fast and then spend the time I would normally bend staring at him angrily. He didn�t get the point (no one does), but he did eventually leave (yay, ADD!). Meanwhile, I have a new game. See, Doughboy empties out the straightener and cutter (a big honkin� machine that, uh, straightens and cuts wire so we can use it for stuff) as it fills up. Right now, they are making cross pieces for the stuff I weld. So, it would make sense that he would take the wire and put it into the little bins on the welder for me, right? Common courtesy. Instead, he completely ignores the empty bins and puts them in these big stupid boxes behind me, so that we now both have to waste our time. So, I thought about just telling him, but where�s the fun in that? So, my new game is to get Doughboy to learn! To begin, I made sure that the bin nearest to him was always empty; maybe he�d notice! Nope. Then I put a few wires in it; maybe he�d notice it was low. Nuh-uh. Now I leave it empty and bang on it with a handful of wire to try and get his attention. No. Soon I�m gonna have to start filling it while he�s unloading the machine, and maybe then he�ll make the connection. �Oh, Nathan� do you want me to put the wire in there?� Good boy, Tom. My initial thought was that he just hates me, but he was making his inept half-conversation at the same time he was filling the wrong box (�So, Nathan, done with that bike yet? OH MAN�), so I think he�s just a little� retarded. And the funny thing is that his job before was as an efficiency expert at Caterpillar. Oh my.

While I was gone, someone built an insane device in the break room. It�s one of those foam brackets wrapped around the ten thousand year old salt shaker with a paper clip sticking out if (the foam) with a pen in it (the paper clip). So, finally, you can season and write at the same time! Whoever made this is a genius. Which makes me think I did it and somehow forgot.

OK, so I hate rehashing old material (no, I don't), but I gave my mysterios Britney Spears CD a listen today. It made me hate music for an hour. Her voice is just so awful, and all her little sexy moans and shit? Yeah, I think they were supposed to give me a hard-on, but I just wanted to push her down the stairs. No wait, that wouldn't break her voice. It wasn't even happy pop! It was so, so, so bad! *shudder* Man!

I left early without asking again. That�s the highlight of my day (and payback for Snake King and his damn interference). Ginger (the lady who works after me) came in at 5, and I was like, �Holy shit! An out!� So I grabbed my stuff and sprinted to the car, cackling madly. No, really. I was laughing like a ninny. I dunno if she was even there to weld or what, but I had an excuse (�DUR � I thought Ginger was gonna be a-weldin�!�), so I was set. Drove home, screaming at the radio some more and found my parents collapsed on the sofas again. Glad I made it home in time for this.

We all eventually got ready (never removing hat again, by the way) and headed out to Starved Rock to see Steve Sharp again. Mom was thoroughly zonked (sleepy, not drunk � ass), and I was pissy. Dad, as normal, was normal. We�re so antisocial; it makes me happy. I can honestly say I didn�t have an unpleasant time, but I don�t know about much more than that. Mom and I attempted dancing. Not good. But better than the oh-so-obviously gay �Rocco� who comes every week and does his queer little dance steps with his �girlfriend.� Earring�s in the wrong ear, buddy. Bachman Turner Overdrive. Yes, I have little else to say here.

Drove parents home and decided at last minute to try for the Harry Potter midnight thing in the Ottawa book store. Not wanting to be left out, I made a wizard�s hat and Harry�s glasses in 15 minutes (I am a beast) and drove there. Met up with the Browns and Taryn and waited in line for a while. Tried to have someone draw a scar on my forehead, but apparently I am too greasy for pens to function >:O Then learned they were sold out. Shoot. Sam got one, though. It�s so pretty; I am highly envious. Harry continues to be hot. Washed bugs off windows, tried to think of anywhere else I could go, failed, came home, wrote tedious entry. Good night!

"I wrestled the octopus
And came out with extra arms"

I won't be soothed,
Nate